Aberpergwm, Neath Port TalbotEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Wales Gotoarrow.pngGlamorgan ParishesGotoarrow.png Neath Port Talbot Gotoarrow.pngAberpergwm


Contents

History

ABERPERGWM, a chapelry in the parish of Cadoxton and township of NEATH-GENOL, or MIDDLE NEATH (NEDD GENOL or GANOL), union and hundred of Neath, county of Glamorgan, South Wales, 10 miles (N. E.) from Neath. This township is situated in the richly fertile Vale of Neath; the scenery is beautifully diversified, and from the higher grounds are some interesting views. The Neath canal terminates within its limits, and a short tramroad proceeds thence to the coal-pits in the neighbourhood: the roads from Brecknock and from Merthyr-Tydvil to Neath unite here, the line then proceeding along the vale between the canal and the right bank of the river. The Vale of Neath railway will also pass through the township. Aberpergwm, the ancient seat of the family of Williams. Among the various features of natural beauty by which the scenery of the vale is distinguished, are the frequent cascades formed by the collected waters, descending from the mountains, after excessive rains.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Several Internet sites list names or indexes to the records, including:

Church records

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the Family History Library Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection.

Census Records

Census for the entire country was started in 1841 and continued every ten years. The most recent census available to the public is 1911. Learn more about these records by reading the censusarticle.

Contributor: Include an overview if there is any unique information, such as the census for X year is missing. Add a link to online sites for indexes and/or images. Also add a link to the Family History Library Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection.

Probate Records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Glamorgan Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in Wales. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place. Here is a link to a web site with gazetteers and maps.

Click here to see a list of communities in Aberpergwm.

Websites

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Wales (1849), pp. 242-255. Adapted. Date accessed: 16 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 16 January 2014, at 18:10.
  • This page has been accessed 301 times.