Abingdon St Helen with St Nicholas, Berkshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Abingdon St Helen with St Nicholas, Berkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Abingdon St Helen with St Nicholas, Berkshire|
|Hundred||Abingdon Borough; Hormer|
|Poor Law Union||Abingdon PLU|
|Parish registers: 1538; Separate registers exist for Abingdon St Nicholas beginning 1538|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1614; Separate records exist for Abingdon St Nicholas beginning 1607|
|Diocese||Pre-1836 - Salisbury; Post-1835 - Oxford|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Berkshire|
|Location of Archive|
|Berkshire Record Office|
ABINGDON, is a borough and market-town, and the head of a union, locally in the hundred of Hormer, county of Berksshire, of which it is the county town,it is 6 miles S. from Oxford, it contains, the parishes of St. Helen and St. Nicholas and are in the borough of Abingdon.
- Particular Baptist
- Primitive Methodist
- Society of Friends/Quaker
- Wesleyan Methodist
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Abingdon St Helen with St Nicholas, Berkshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|BERK = Berkshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£).|
|IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free|
|OFHS = Oxfordshire Family History Society - (£). Results delivered by email.|
|Abingdon St Helen with St Nicholas, Berkshire Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Abingdon St Michael parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Abingdon St Michael Parish Online Records|
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241201.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Berkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Abingdon in Genuki
- ↑ Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Adapted. Accessed: 25 Mar 2013
- ↑ 'New Berkshire parish records published on findmypast.co.uk,', findmypast, accessed 28 January 2014.
- ↑ Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Berkshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 31 January 2014.
- ↑ 'OFHS Parish Records Date Finder,', Oxfordshire Family History Society, accessed 21 January 2014.
- This page was last modified on 30 April 2015, at 04:53.
- This page has been accessed 4,005 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News