Abingdon St Nicholas, Berkshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Abingdon St Nicholas)

England Gotoarrow.png Berkshire Gotoarrow.png Berkshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Abingdon St Nicholas

Guide to Abingdon St Nicholas, Berkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Abingdon St Nicholas, Berkshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Abingdon Borough; Hormer
County Berkshire
Poor Law Union Abingdon
Registration District Abingdon
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538; Separate registers exist for Abingdon St Nicholas beginning 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1614; Separate records exist for Abingdon St Nicholas beginning 1607
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Abingdon
Diocese Pre-1836 - Salisbury; Post-1835 - Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Berkshire
Location of Archive
Berkshire Record Office


Parish History

ABINGDON, a borough and market-town having exclusive jurisdiction, and the head of a union, locally in the hundred of Hormer, county of Berks, of which it is the county town, 6 miles south from Oxford...containing, exclusively of that part of the parish of St. Helen which is without the Abingdon comprises the parishes of St. Helen and St. Nicholas; the former including, in the out-parish, part of the townships of Shippon and Northcourt, and the whole of Sandford, Barton, and Pumney; and the latter, the remainder of Shippou and Northcourt, with some lands in Sunningwell and Bayworth, which are all without the limits of the borough.

There are places of worship for Baptists, the Society of Friends, Independents, and Wesleyans.[1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Abingdon St Nicholas, Berkshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BERK = Berkshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£).[2]
OFHS = Oxfordshire Family History Society - (£). Results delivered by email.[3]
Abingdon St Nicholas, Berkshire Genealogy Online Parish Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images

OFHS 1603-1865

Shippon parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Shippon Parish Online Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images

OFHS 1856-2008

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non-Conformist Churches
  • Baptist
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Particular Baptist
  • Presbyterian
  • Primitive Methodist
  • Society of Friends/Quaker
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241201.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Berkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


Abingdon in GENUKI


  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 5-9. Adapted. Date accessed: 13 March 2012.
  2. 'New Berkshire parish records published on findmypast.co.uk,', findmypast, accessed 28 January 2014.
  3. 'OFHS Parish Records Date Finder,', Oxfordshire Family History Society, accessed 21 January 2014.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 October 2015, at 18:02.
  • This page has been accessed 2,971 times.