Acocks Green, Worcestershire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Acocks Green, Worcestershire)

England go to Worcestershire go to Worcestershire Parishes

Guide to Acocks Green, Worcestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Chapelry History

ACOCK'S GREEN, chapelry in Yardley parish, Worcester; on the Oxford and Birmingham railway, 4¼ miles SE of Birmingham. It was constituted in 1867; and it has a r. station, a post office under Birmingham, a church of 1867 at a cost of £4,000, a recent handsome Independent chapel, and a Wesleyan chapel.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464209.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Worcestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Worcester Branch of the Birmingham and Midland Society for Genealogy and Heraldry

Tracing Your Ancestors in Birmingham from The Birmingham and Midland Society for Genealogy and Heraldry

Add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870. Date accessed and adapted: 29 September 2013.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 April 2015, at 17:01.
  • This page has been accessed 1,160 times.