Adair County, IowaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Iowa Gotoarrow.pngAdair County
Interstate I-80, western Iowa, Adair CO., Iowa


Guide to Adair County Iowa genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


Hand and keyboard.jpg Iowa
Online Records


Adair County, Iowa
Map
Map of Iowa highlighting Adair County
Location in the state of Iowa
Map of the U.S. highlighting Iowa
Location of Iowa in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 15, 1851
County Seat Greenfield
Courthouse
Address Adair County Courthouse
P. O. Box L
Greenfield, IA 5089-1290
Phone: (515) 743-2445

Contents

History

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Adair County

Parent County

1851--Adair County was created in January 15, 1851 from Pottawattamie, Dallas, Mahaska, Monroe, Polk and Cass Counties. County records are housed in Greenfield. County. The county was attached to Pottawattamie and Cass Counties prior to organization 6 May 1854. County seat: Greenfield [1]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Iowa County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Iowa County Boundary Maps" (1816-1872) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

1889 -- Courthouse burned and many records were damaged. For a list of record loss in Iowa Counties see: Iowa Counties with Burned Courthouses


For further information on researching in burned counties, see the following:

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Townships

Extinct Communities

Neighboring Counties

Adams  • Audubon  • Cass  • Dallas  • Guthrie  • Madison  • Union

Adair CountyMadison CountyUnion CountyAdams CountyCass CountyAudubon CountyGuthrie CountyDallas CountyClark CountyWarren CountyPolk CountyBoone CountyGreene CountyCarroll CountyCrawford CountyShelby CountyMontgomery CountyPage CountyTaylor CountyRinggold CountyDecatur CountyIAAdair.JPG

Resources

Biographies

Rootsweb Iowa Biographics Project Click titles to see alphabetical list of biographies in that title, some with links

Cemeteries

Cemeteries for Adair County are:

  • Abandoned Timber Cemetery
  • Adair County Cemetery
  • Avondale Cemetery
  • Boley Farm Cemetery
  • Bryant Cemetery
  • Calvary Cemetery
  • Campbell Cemetery
  • Canby Cemetery
  • Cears Cemetery
  • Eureka Cemetery
  • Fairview Cemetery
  • Fontanelle Cemetery
  • Garner Cemetery
  • Grand River Center Cemetery
  • Greenfield Cemetery
  • Grove Center Cemetery
  • Hebron Cemetery
  • Hill of Zion Cemetery
  • Immanuel Cemetery
  • Immanuel Lutheran Cemetery
  • Jefferson Cemetery
  • Liberty Cemetery
  • Loucks Grove Cemetery
  • Mormon Cemetery
  • Oakwood Cemetery
  • Orient Cemetery
  • Penn Avenue Cemetery
  • Pleasant Grove Cemetery
  • Prussia Cemetery
  • Roberts Cemetery
  • Saint Johns Cemetery
  • Saint Josephs Cemetery
  • Saint Marys Cemetery
  • Sunny Hill Cemetery
  • Union Cemetery
  • Wilson Cemetery
  • Winn Cemetery
  • Witt Cemetery

Transcriptions for some of these cemeteries can be found at:

The Family History library has several films with information about the cemeteries in Adair County. For more information about cemeteries in Iowa see the Iowa Cemeteries page.

Census

Iowa recorded not only the federal census but state census through out the years too. The state census contains very valuable genealogical information. Where the census information can be found, what years it was taken, mortality schedules, census substitutions and much more is discussed in the Iowa Census article.

Church

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Iowa Church Records.

Lutheran
  • Records of Immanuel Lutheran Church, Fontenelle, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Court

  • Affidavit index, 1907-1924. [6]Microfilm of originals housed at the Clerk of the District Court, Adair County, Greenfield, Iowa. Affidavits concerning land transactions.

For more information about the courts in Iowa see the Iowa Court Records page.

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Iowa Land and Property for additional information about early Iowa land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

  • Affidavit index, 1907-1924. [7]Microfilm of originals housed at the Clerk of the District Court, Adair County, Greenfield, Iowa. Affidavits concerning land transactions.
  • Homestead records 1878-1972, Land transfer records 1858-1916; index 1855-1920, Miscellaneous records, 1880-1911; index 1880-1916, Tax deed records 1873-1954, Town lot deed records 1855-1918, Town lot transfer records 1867-1991; index 1870-1991 [8]

Libraries

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Adair County, Iowa. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Iowa Local Histories.

Maps

  • Map of Adair County, Iowa 1882. [9] Includes inset maps of Greenfield, Adair, Orient, Casey, Stuart, Port Union, Fontanelle and the state of Iowa.
  • Standard atlas or Adair County, Iowa : including a plat book of the villages, cities and townships of the county. [10]Landowners are shown on the township maps.

Migration

Early migration routes to and from Adair County, Iowa for European settlers included:

Military

  • Soldiers discharge record, 1887-1952 [12]Microfilm of original records found in the Adair County Courthouse. Adair - Military records; World War, 1914-1918. World War, 1939-1945.

For more information about the Military in Adair see the Iowa Military Records page.

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Adair County, Iowa served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Adair County, Iowa:

- 4th Regiment, Iowa Cavalry, Company I
- 29th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company D
- 29th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company D
:- 4th Regiment, Iowa Cavalry, Company I

Newspapers

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: List of online newspaper archives
  • Adair News
  • NewspaperArchive.com ($) has a large collection of digitized Iowa newspapers online. This database is sometimes free at libraries under the name AccessNewspaperArchive.

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Adair County, Iowa newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

  • Adair County, Iowa obituaries, 1907-1959. [13]Micro reproduction of originals housed at the Greenfield Public Library, Greenfield, Iowa.
  • Adair County, Iowa obituaries, Obituaries 1934-1978. [14] Micro reproduction of originals housed at the Greenfield Public Library, Greenfield, Iowa. Also includes Death records 1940-1959.

Probate

In most counties in Iowa, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The Family History Library Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Iowa - Adair - Probate records.

  • Family History Films contains information about administrator's, executor's, and guardian's bonds, 1858-1902; Probate packets, 1854-1926; index, 1854-1926; Probate records 1857-1952; index, 1857-1965; Probate register, 1868-1886; Will records, 1858-1979.

Taxation

Iowa tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Tax lists were usually made every year, however, there may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Iowa Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Iowa Department of Public Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also How to order Iowa Vital Records or order electronically online..

Birth

FamilySearch.org Iowa, County Births, 1880-1935

Marriage

FamilySearch.org Iowa, County Marriages, 1838-1934

Death

FamilySearch.org Iowa, County Death Records, 1880-1992

Societies

See also a List of Iowa Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Family History Centers

Websites



Sites with online indexes or images of records pertaining to Adair County, Iowa
State Historical Society of Iowa Free list and links to data and "hard copy" material - results of "adair county" placed in search box
The Iowa Heritage Digital Collection Free digital images from a variety of Iowa cultural insitutions - results of "adair county" in the search box
State Library of Iowa Free electronic depository of documents intended for the general public produced by Iowa agencies - results of "adair county" in the search box
IAGenWeb Project Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
[1] [2][3] FamilySearch Free Births, 1880-1935; Deaths 1880-1992; Marriages, 1838-1934; all indexes
Sites that search for links pertaining to Adair County, Iowa
RootsWeb Resources Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS.com Free family history resources and government records
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Adair County, Iowa
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch Catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library located in Indiana They are heavily involved in digitizing.
See also local libraries and Iowa Archives and Libraries
Social networking sites pertaining to Adair County, Iowa
GeneaBloggers enter "Iowa" in search box to see list and links to Iowa blogs
Google+ list of groups from "iowa genealogy" search
Facebook list of groups from "Iowa Genealogy" search
genealogy.com Adair County, IA Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com Adair County Message Board

Sources and Footnotes

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. 2.0 2.1 2.2 2.3 2.4 Template=/cffiles/counties/citiescounty.cfm countyid=19001 NAco National Association of Counties
  3. 3.0 3.1 3.2 3.3 3.4 3.5 3.6 3.7 3.8 Hometown Locator
  4. 4.0 4.1 4.2 City Data
  5. 5.00 5.01 5.02 5.03 5.04 5.05 5.06 5.07 5.08 5.09 5.10 5.11 5.12 5.13 5.14 5.15 5.16 Adair County Townships
  6. Adair County (Iowa). Clerk of the District Court (Main Author),Affidavit index, 1907-1924 Family History Film FHL US/CAN Film 1787316 Items 2-3.
  7. Adair County (Iowa). Clerk of the District Court (Main Author),Affidavit index, 1907-1924 Family History Film FHL US/CAN Film 1787316 Items 2-3.
  8. Family History Library
  9. Allen, C. R. Map of Adair County, Iowa 1882. Family History Book 977.773 E7
  10. Micro-reproduction of original published: Chicago : Ogle, 1901. 53, 28 p. Standard atlas or Adair County, Iowa : including a plat book of the villages, cities and townships of the county. Family History FHL US/CAN Film 985415 Item 1
  11. National Park Service, "Auto Tour Route Maps" in Mormon Pioneer National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/mopi/planyourvisit/maps.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).
  12. Adair County (Iowa). County Recorder Soldiers discharge record, 1887-1952. Family History Film US/CAN Film 1034838 Item 5
  13. Rivenburgh, Myrtle. Adair County, Iowa obituaries, 1907-1959. FHL US/CAN Film 1845781 Items 8-10
  14. Adair County Free Press. Adair County, Iowa obituaries, Obituaries 1934-1978. FHL US/CAN Film 1845782 Items 1-7

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 8 July 2014, at 18:23.
  • This page has been accessed 16,928 times.