Adair County, Oklahoma GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Adair County, Oklahoma)

This article is about a northwest Oklahoma county. For other uses, see Adair.

United States Gotoarrow.png Oklahoma Gotoarrow.png Adair County

Adair County, Oklahoma genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Oklahoma
Online Records

Coordinates: 39.99°0′N 91.19°0′W / 39.99°N 91.19°W / 39.99; -91.19

Adair County, Oklahoma
Map of Oklahoma highlighting Adair County
Location in the state of Oklahoma
Map of the U.S. highlighting Oklahoma
Location of Oklahoma in the U.S.
Founded July 16, 1907
County Seat Stilwell
Address Adair County Courthouse
2nd and Division Streets
P.O. Box 169
Stillwell, Oklahoma 74960-0169
Phone: 918.696.7198


County Courthouse

Adair County Courthouse
2nd & Division Streets; PO Box 169
Stilwell, OK 74960-0169
Phone: 918.696.7198 

Clerk Court has marriage, divorce, probate, and court records 
from 1907; County Assessor has land records[1]


Parent County

1907--Adair County was created 16 July 1907 from Cherokee Lands. County seat: Stilwell [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Oklahoma County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Oklahoma County Boundary Maps" (1819-1912) may be viewed for free at the website.

Record Loss


Populated Places

Neighboring Counties




For tips on accessing Adair County, Oklahoma Genealogy census records online, see: Oklahoma Census.


Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Oklahoma denominations, view the Oklahoma Church Records Wiki page.



Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Oklahoma Land and Property for additional information about early Oklahoma land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Adair County, Oklahoma Genealogy. County and town histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Oklahoma Local Histories.





Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Adair County, Oklahoma Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


In most counties in Oklahoma, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Oklahoma - Adair - Probate records.

Online Records


Oklahoma tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. See the CDC Where to Write website for information on acquiring copies of these records.

See also How to order Oklahoma Vital Records, order electronically online or download an application for Oklahoma Birth Certificate or Death Certificate Applications to mail.


Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Web Sites


  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Adair County, Oklahoma. Page 557 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 1 November 2015, at 00:29.
  • This page has been accessed 10,034 times.