Addingham, Cumberland GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Addingham, Cumberland)

England go to Cumberland go to Cumberland Parishes

Guide to Addingham, Cumberland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Addingham, Cumberland
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Leath
County Cumberland
Poor Law Union Penrith
Registration District Penrith
Records begin
Parish registers: 1601
Bishop's Transcripts: 1660
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Allerdale
Diocese Carlisle
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Carlisle (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cumberland Record Office


Parish History

ADDINGHAM (St. Michael), a parish, in the union of Penrith, Leath ward, E. division of Cumberland, 1½ mile (S. E.) from Kirk-Oswald. There are places of worship for Independents and Wesleyans.[1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Parish registers for Addingham, 1601-1978 at the FHL

Bishop's transcripts for Addingham, 1662-1866 at the FHL

Non-Conformist Churches
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464270.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


Addingham on GENUKI


  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848) Date accessed and adapted 18 July 2013.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 21 May 2015, at 15:56.
  • This page has been accessed 1,494 times.