Addington, Buckinghamshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Addington, Buckinghamshire)

England  Gotoarrow.png  Buckinghamshire Gotoarrow.png  Buckinghamshire Parishes

Guide to Addington, Buckinghamshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Addington, Buckinghamshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Buckingham
County Buckinghamshire
Poor Law Union Buckingham
Registration District Buckingham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1575
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Buckingham
Diocese Pre-1845 - Lincoln; Post-1844 - Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Buckingham
Location of Archive
Buckinghamshire Record Office


Parish History

Addington (St. Mary), a parish, in the union, hundred, and county of Buckingham, 1¾ mile (W.N.W.) from Winslow.'[1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Addington, Buckinghamshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[4]
Addington, Buckinghamshire Genealogy Online Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1558-1834
IGI 1558-1711 1558-1877

Non-Conformist Churches


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241212.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Buckinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


Addington on GENUKI


  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 12-15. Date accessed: 16 May 2013. Adapted.
  2. 'Buckinghamshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 28 January 2014.
  3. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Buckingham, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 4 February 2014.
  4. 'Buckinghamshire Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 27 January 2014.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2015, at 00:39.
  • This page has been accessed 1,512 times.