Addington, SurreyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Surrey Gotoarrow.png  Surrey Parishes

Addington, Surrey family history and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Addington, Surrey
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Wallington
County Surrey
Poor Law Union Croydon PLU
Registration District Croydon
Records begin
Parish records: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1692
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery None
Diocese Pre-1837 - Winchester; Post-1836 - Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1846 - Court of the Peculiar of the Archbishop of Canterbury in the Deaneries of Arches, Croydon, and Shoreham; Post-1845 - Court of the Bishop of Canterbury (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Surrey Record Office

Contents

Parish History

ADDINGTON (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Croydon, First division of the hundred of Wallington, E. division of Surrey, 3½ miles (E. S. E.) from Croydon.[1]

Church records

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)[2]
BO = BritishOrigins.com (£)[3]
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£)[4][5]
FS = FamilySearch.org[6][7]
Online Addington Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1559
1559
1559
Images
1692-1693, 1800-1812 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[8]
1813-1845 Ancestry[9] 1800-1843 Ancestry[10] 1813-1845 Ancestry[11]
Indexes 1560-1653 FamilySearch[12] 1561-1653
1702-1707
1724-1754
1773-1812
FamilySearch[13] 1559-1840 FindMyPast[14]
1559-1812 FreeREG[15] 1559-1812 FreeREG[15] 1559-1812 FreeREG[15]
1559-1812 FamilyHistoryBooks 1559-1812 FamilyHistoryBooks 1559-1812 FamilyHistoryBooks
1561-1837 BritishOrigins[16]
1626-1774 FindMyPast[4]
1780-1812 Ancestry[2]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474665.

Probate records

Surrey will abstracts (1470-1858) are available online at British Origins (£).[17]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Surrey Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Taxation

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Local Family History Centre

Orpington Family History Centre, Kent is within the London Borough of Bromley, located adjacent to Orpington Station and on major bus routes through the borough.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848) Date accessed: 24 September 2013
  2. 2.0 2.1 Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm
  3. 'Surrey Marriage Index - Parishes in the index,' British Origins, accessed 18 September 2012.
  4. 4.0 4.1 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net (WayBack Machine), accessed 27 March 2012.
  5. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 11 April 2012. For a breakdown of missing years, see 'National Burial Index - Coverage: Surrey,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 11 April 2012.
  6. Batches P013371, C013372-C013373, see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for Surrey, England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011.
  7. Batches M013371, M013373, see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for Surrey, England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011.
  8. London, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry ($). Described as St Mary, Addington in Croydon Borough. Marriages from 1754 to 1812 are not included in this database. Partially indexed.
  9. London, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry ($). Described as Addington in Croydon Borough. Partially indexed.
  10. London, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1921, courtesy: Ancestry ($). Described as Addington in Croydon Borough. Partially indexed.
  11. London, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1980, courtesy: Ancestry ($). Described as Addington in Croydon Borough. Partially indexed.
  12. Batch P014171, see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for Surrey, England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 3 April 2012.
  13. Batch M014171, see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for Surrey, England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 3 April 2012.
  14. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 11 April 2012. For a breakdown of missing years, see 'National Burial Index - Coverage: Surrey,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 11 April 2012.
  15. 15.0 15.1 15.2 Surrey Coverage in FreeReg, FreeREG, accessed 14 April 2012.
  16. 'Surrey Marriage Index - Parishes in the index,' British Origins, accessed 18 September 2012.
  17. 'About Surrey and South London Will Abstracts 1470-1858,' Origins.net, accessed 27 June 2012.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 20:06.
  • This page has been accessed 2,231 times.