Adwick upon Dearne, Yorkshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Adwick upon Dearne, Yorkshire)

England Gotoarrow.png YorkshireGotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes A-I Gotoarrow.png West Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Adwick upon Dearne

Guide to Adwick upon Dearne, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Adwick upon Dearne, Yorkshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Strafforth and Tickhill
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Doncaster
Registration District Doncaster
Records begin
Parish registers: 1690
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Doncaster
Diocese York
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office


Parish History

ADWICK-UPON-DEARNE, a parish in Doncaster district, W. R. Yorkshire; on the river Dearne[1]


Civil Registration

Primary registration of births, marriages and deaths took place at the Doncaster registration district has been included in the online index available at Yorkshire BMD for post 1837 events; view the coverage table to check progress on the availability of index search. Marriages include

  • Church of England marriages.
  • Civil Marriages at register offices, or non-conformist churches where a registrar was required to be present at the ceremony.
  • Authorised Person marriages. These cover the non-conformist places of worship which applied to keep their own registers as a result of the Marriage Act, 1898 (bringing them into line with Jewish and Quaker marriages which had this status since 1837). In such cases an 'Authorised Person' (usually the minister or priest) recorded the ceremony instead of the registrar. Earlier weddings in these places would be included with civil marriage registers.

A secondary index of Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD however this secondary index may omit the event and may not contain the detail of the Yorkshire BMD index

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Adwick Upon Dearne exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FS =


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images

FS 1718-1841



To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464275.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales(1870-72). Date accessed: 10 January 2014.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 28 October 2014.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 May 2015, at 11:42.
  • This page has been accessed 3,091 times.