Aeugst am Albis parish, Zürich, Switzerland GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Europe Gotoarrow.pngSwitzerland Gotoarrow.pngZürich Gotoarrow.png Aeugst am Albis parish


Guide to Aeugst am Albis parish, Switzerland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Back to Zürich in Switzerland

Contents

Geography

History

The parish of Aeugst am Albis was established in 1667. Prior to 1667, the villages of Aeugst and Wengi belonged to the parish of Mettmenstetten, while the villages of Aeugstertal and Müliberg belonged to the parish of Stallikon.

Place Names

Locations within Aeugst am Albis

Aeugst
Aeussere Wengi
Alpenblick
Bollet
Breite (Aeugstertal)
Färberäcker
Götschihof
Habersaat

Hodel
Kloster (Aeugstertal)
Mühleberg
Neuallmend
Obertal
Ried
Scheller

Seehalde
Seehof
Sennhütte Aeugstertal
Sonnenberg
Stümmel
Weid
Wengi

Surrounding Parishes

Affoltern am Albis
Hausen am Albis
Langnau am Albis
Mettmenstetten
Rifferswil
Stallikon

Collections

Church Records

Census Records

(see here for article describing the Zürich census records)

Census records prior to the founding of the parish of Aeugst am Albis in 1667 are found under Mettmenstetten for the villages of Aeugst and Wengi, and Stallikon for the villages of Aeugstertal and Müliberg.

The following censuses are available for Aeugst am Albis:

Census Year FHL Film number item number beginning page
1637 1185141 2 534
1670 1185153 1 689
1678 1185152 3 939
1682 1185158 3 137
1689 1185164 1 821
1695 1185168 2 463
1708 1185169 2 197

Genealogies

(see here for article describing Swiss compiled genealogies)

The following genealogies have been researched for Aeugst am Albis families:

Civil Registration

Civil registration began in 1876. Aeugst am Albis belongs to the Bezirk Affoltern civil registration district. Records are only available in Switzerland. For further information, contact the civil registry office at:

Bezirkszivilstandsamt Affoltern
Gemeindezentrum
Zivilstandskreis
Marktplatz 1
CH - 8910 Affoltern am Albis

Tel: +41 44 762 56 65

email: zivilstandsamt@affoltern-am-albis.ch

Surnames

The following surnames held citizenship in Aeugst am Albis prior to 1875:

Aeberli
Bär
Bickel
Bliggenstorfer
Epprecht (1823, from
    Affoltern am Albis)
Frick
Gallmann
Huber

Jäggi
Kleinert
Kuratli
Landis
Maurer
Nievergelt
Pfeiffer
Schneebeli (1786, from
    Affoltern am Albis)

Senn
Sidler
Spinner
Stehli
Sydler
Vollenweider
Weiss

Related Sources

The town's website (in German) can be found here.

Societies and Libraries

Cantonal Archive of Zürich

References

Register of Swiss Surnames

Historical Gazetteer of Switzerland


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 February 2015, at 23:44.
  • This page has been accessed 754 times.