Ahvenanmaa County, Finland GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Ahvenanmaa County, Finland)

Europe Gotoarrow.pngFinland Gotoarrow.png Ahvenanmaa County

Guide to Ahvenanmaa County, Finland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.



History

Åland Islands (Ahvenanmaa in Finnish), an archipelago, lie between Finland and Sweden, with a Swedish-speaking population but politically an autonomous region of Finland in recent times. Historically, the entire western portion of modern Finland was ruled by Sweden for a few hundred years but lost to Russia in 1809 after a war. The history of Åland gets even more complex during the 1900s but the control by Finland always maintained to some degree. Older vital records were kept by the state church and are mostly in Swedish.

Tools

  • Databases for research in this county.
  • Gazetteers
  • Genealogical Societies
  • Maps

Districts

  • Add here
  • Add here
  • Add here
  • Add here
  • Add here

Parishes




News
  • (Latest news for research in this county here)

more... 

Topics
  • Archives
  • Economy
  • Geography
  • Historical Timeline
  • Language
  • Military
FamilySearch Forums
  • Research in this county
  • Reading Records Forum

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 March 2015, at 19:02.
  • This page has been accessed 455 times.