Alden, New YorkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United StatesGotoarrow.png New YorkGotoarrow.png Erie CountyGotoarrow.pngTown of Alden

United StatesGotoarrow.png New YorkGotoarrow.png Erie CountyGotoarrow.pngVillage of Alden



Church Records


Additional Resources:

Erie County, New York History

Genealogical Resources: History of Alden, NY


Archives, Libraries and Museums

Ewell Free Library
13280 Broadway
Alden, NY 14004
Phone: 716-937-7082

Grosvenor Room Genealogy
Buffalo and Erie County Public Library
Lafayette Square
Buffalo, NY 14203
(716) 858-8900
Email form | blog

Genealogical Resources: Local histories, census records, church and cemetery records, city directories, ethnic and immigration research, African American research, published family histories, maps and atlases, military records and history, vital records, yearbooks and school records. The website includes dozens of guides for topics such as: African-American Genealogy, Canadian Genealogy, German Genealogy, Irish Genealogy, Italian Genealogy, Jewish Genealogy, Native American Genealogy, and Polish Genealogy.

Western New York Genealogical Society Library
Hamburg Historical Society Museum
5859 South Park Avenue, Rt. 62
Hamburg, NY
Genealogical Resources: Atlases, gazetters, directories, histories, church records, cemetery records, vital index, censuses, compiled genealogies, immigrant lists, military records, and periodicals.


Alden Historical Society
13213 Broadway
Alden, NY 14004
Phone: 716-937-3700

Buffalo and Erie County Historical Society
25 Nottingham Court
Buffalo, NY 14216
Facebook page
Genealogical Resources: Library, Guide to Genealogical Materials, city directories, church records (many Roman Catholic parishes), cemetery transcriptions, censuses, genealogy books, obituary index to Buffalo newspapers (1811-2001), private papers, obituary request form, published family histories, list of professional researchers for hire.
Erie County Historical Federation
11 Danforth Street
Chektowaga, NY 14227
Facebook page[1]
Genealogical Resources: "Loosely organized group of local historical societies and appointed town historians of Erie County, acting as a liaison between groups and providing a speakers bureau."[1]
Western New York Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 338
Hamburg, N.Y. 14075-0338
Genealogical Resources: Surname list, locality list, 1865 Census index, journal, research library.

Town Clerk

Town of Alden, Clerk
Town Hall, 3311 Wende Road
Alden, NY 14004
Phone: 716-937-6969, ext. 2
Genealogical Records

Town Historian

Leonard Weisbeck, Sr.[2]
Town Hall, 3311 Wende Road
Alden, NY 14004
Phone: 716-937-9226

Village Historian

Leonard Weisbeck, Sr.[2]
13389 Park Street
Alden, NY 14004

Town/Village Records

To locate additional published and transcribed records for Alden, New York check:

  • Gordon L. Remington, New York Towns, Villages, and Cities: A Guide to Genealogical Sources (Boston: New England Historic Genealogical Society, 2002). American Ancestors online edition; At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 974.7 D27r. Alphabetical list including date founded, if a town history exists, church and cemetery sources, and if a Civil War register (TCR) exists. The codes used under Church and Cemetery are defined in the link above the listing of towns, cities and villages.

Vital Records


  1. 1.0 1.1 Erie County, New York Town Historians, Historical Societies and Historical Museums, Updated: 20 October 2004, (accessed 15 December 2011).
  2. 2.0 2.1 Elizabeth Petty Bentley, Genealogist's Address Book: State and Local Resources, with Special Resources Including Ethnic and Religious Organizations, 6th ed. (Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Pub., 2009), 492. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D24ben 2009.



Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 6 February 2015, at 05:21.
  • This page has been accessed 2,189 times.