Alderholt, Dorset GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Alderholt, Dorset)

England Gotoarrow.png Dorset Gotoarrow.pngDorset Parishes

Guide to Alderholt, Dorset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Alderholt, Dorset
Type Civil parish
Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Cranborne
County Dorset
Poor Law Union Wimborne & Cranborne
Registration District Wimborne
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Parish Cranborne
Rural Deanery Pimperne
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Dorset

Contents

Parish History

ALDERHOLT, a tything and a chapelry in Cranborne parish, Dorset. The tything lies on the verge of the county, 4½ miles E of Cranborne, and 5½ N of Ringwood r. station; and has a post office under Salisbury. Pop., 404.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Alderholt, Dorset Genealogy Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1840
1840
1840
Images 1840-1906 Ancestry[2] 1840-1921 Ancestry[3] 1840-1969 Ancestry[4]
Indexes 1850-1989 findmypast[5]


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241340.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Dorset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, publ. London and Edinburgh: 1870. Date accessed: 03 July 2103.
  2. Dorset, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  3. Dorset, England, Marriages and Banns, 1813-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  4. Dorset, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-2001, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  5. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 11 April 2012. For a breakdown of missing years, see 'National Burial Index - Coverage: Dorset,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 23 April 2012.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 9 January 2016, at 03:27.
  • This page has been accessed 1,733 times.