Alderton, Gloucestershire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Alderton, Gloucestershire)

England  Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Parishes

Guide to Alderton, Gloucestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Alderton, Gloucestershire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Tewkesbury
County Gloucestershire
Poor Law Union Winchcombe PLU
Registration District Winchcomb
Records begin
Parish registers: 1596
Bishop's Transcripts: 1625
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Campden
Diocese Pre 1836 - Gloucester; Post 1835 - Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Gloucester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Gloucestershire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

ALDERTON (St. Margaret), a parish, in the union of Winchcomb, Upper division of the hundred of Tewkesbury, E. division of the county of Gloucester, 4¼ miles (N. N. W.) from Winchcomb; containing, with the hamlet of Dixton. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

AC = Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials (Ancestry) - (£)[2][3][4][5]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) (£)[6]
FHSO = FHSOnline - (£)[7]
FS = FamilySearch.org
ALDERTON PARISH (1596) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1596-1812 1596-1812 1596-1753 1596-1753 1596-1812 1596-1812
AC

1754-1823 1754-1823

BOYD

1656-1809


FHSO

1800-1837


FS 1596-1866
1596-1877


Non-Conformist Churches

Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288778.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Gloucestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Alderton on GENUKI

Reference

  1. Lewis, Samuel, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 26-31. Date accessed: 31 December 2012.
  2. 'Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1813,' Ancestry, accessed 14 February 2015.
  3. 'Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1913,' Ancestry, accessed 14 February 2015.
  4. 'Gloucestershire, England, Marriages, 1754-1938,' Ancestry, accessed 14 February 2015.
  5. 'Gloucestershire, England, Burials, 1813-1988,' Ancestry, accessed 14 February 2015.
  6. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, accessed 1 December 2012.
  7. 'Coverage for the Gloucestershire Marriages database,' FHS Online, accessed 5 May 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 6 June 2015, at 03:44.
  • This page has been accessed 2,065 times.