Alderwasley, Derbyshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Alderwasley, Derbyshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Parishes

Guide to Alderwasley, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Alderwasley, Derbyshire
St Margaret's Chapel - Alderwasley Derbyshire.jpg
St Margaret's Chapel - Alderwasley Derbyshire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Appletree
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Belper
Registration District Belper
Records begin
Parish registers: 1936; For more records see Wirksworth
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Wirksworth
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office


Parish History

Alderwasley was a chapelry in Wirksworth, Derbyshire Ancient Parish.[1].

The early chapelry at Chapel Hill dates from the early 16th century and now serves as the village hall. The chapel of St Margaret has been designated as a grade II listed building by English Heritage British listed building

Alderwasley Wikipedia

The church of All Saints was built in 1849-1850 at Higg Lane and has been designated a grade II listed building by English Heritage British listed building


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241288.

See Derbyshire Census

Church records

Alderwasley Chapelry registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
Alderwasley All Saints Chapelry (1936) Online Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images

To find the names of neighbouring parishes, use Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Derbyshire Record Office hold deposited parish registers for Alderwasley All Saints Marriages 1936-1979 and Burials 1861-1937 which have not been microfilmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah.

For details of Derbyshire Record Office Record Guide visit Derbyshire Record Office records Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Alderwasley

Non-Conformist Churches


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Registration Districts
  • Belper

Poor Law Unions

Belper Poor Law Union, Derbyshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


Alderwasley on GENUKI


  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 26-31. Accessed: 28 Jan 2013


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 June 2015, at 13:15.
  • This page has been accessed 2,372 times.