Alkborough, Lincolnshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Alkborough, Lincolnshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Lincolnshire Gotoarrow.pngLincolnshire Parishes

Guide to Alkborough, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Alkborough, Lincolnshire
Alkborough St John the Baptist Lincolnshire.jpg
Alkborough St John the Baptist Lincolnshire.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Manley
County Lincolnshire
Poor Law Union Glandford Brigg
Registration District Glanford Brigg
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1599
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Manlake
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1834 - Court of the Archdeaconry of Stow; Post-1833 - Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lincolnshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Alkborough St John the Baptist is an Ancient Parish which includes Walcot and overlooks the confluence of the rivers Trent and Ouse in the Humber estuary.

ALKBOROUGH, or Aukborough, a parish in Glanford Brigg district, Lincoln; at the mouth of the river Trent, 5 miles S of Brough r. station, and 10½ W of Barton-upon-Humber. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Glanford Brigg registration district

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Search the FamilySearch Catalogue Alkborough

The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images  via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Alkborough Par 1 will identify available images.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438760.

Lincolnshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Glanford Brigg Poor Law Union, Lincolnshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 January 2016, at 04:52.
  • This page has been accessed 5,729 times.