All Hallows BarkingEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png London Gotoarrow.png London Parishes Gotoarrow.pngAll Hallows Barking

London All Hallows Barking family history and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

All Hallows Barking
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred London, Within the Walls
County London
Poor Law Union City of London PLU
Registration District London City
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery None
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (London Division)
Location of Archive
London Record Office

Contents

Parish History

All Hallows Barking

All Hallows Barking Timeline

  • 675 - founded; oldest church in London
  • 1650 - gunpowder explosion destroyed church tower
  • 1658 - church tower rebuilt
  • 1940s - bombed during London Blitz, later restored

1831 description

'The church of All Hallows Barking [parish registers from 1558] is situated the East End of Tower Street Corner of Seething Lane. It receives its name as having been dedicated to All Saints, formerly called All Hallows, and from being before the Reformation a vicarage in the gift of the Abbess and convent of Barking, in Essex. But on the dissolution of the monasteries advowson was given to the Archbishop of Canterbury. It escaped the fire in 1666, and is of considerable extent, being 180 feet long, 67 broad and 35 high; it has a plain bell tower, with a will proportioned turret, about 80 feet in height from the ground. This church is considerable antiquity, as appears from the circumstance of Richard the First having founded and endowed a Chapel within its walls.'[1]

1848 description
Allhallows, Barking, is a parish of London within the walls. The patron is the Archbishop of Canterbury.[2]


The old name was “Berkingchurch” it became “All Hallows Barking” in the beginning of the 16th century. The church had a double dedication, to the Virgin Mary and to All Saints. The ancient boundaries of the churchyard are difficult to define, and were probably irregular. All the evidence, however, is that the chapel lay in the cemetery some distance to the north of the church, on a site now pierced by the Underground Railway.[3]


William Penn, founder of Pennsylvania, was baptized here.

All Hallows Barking Parish was part of Tower Ward. The modern name of this parish is All Hallows by the Tower and All Hallows Barking by the Tower.

Here's a brief history of this parish, online at the All Hallows, Barking website.

Maskell's 1864 history of the parish has been digitized:

  • Maskell, Joseph. Berkyngechirche juxta Turrim. Collections in Illustration of the Parochial History and Antiquities of the Ancient Parish of Allhallows Barking, in the City of London. 1864. Digital versions at Google Books; Internet Archive; another Internet Archive copy.

Resources

Church records

Online All Hallows Barking Parish Register Images and Indexes
  Baptisms Marriages Burials
Earliest 1558 1558 1558
Indexes 1750-1866 FamilySearch 1800-1812 (gaps) Ancestry[4] 1813-1861 FindMyPast[5]
1822-1850 (gaps) FamilySearch[6] 1850-1853 FamilySearch

Parish registers of All Hallows Barking are available on microfilm through FamilySearch.

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Census

1564 Subsidy

  • All Hallows Barking, Tower Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/201); copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1582 Subsidy

1621 Subsidy

  • All Hallows Barking, Tower Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/501); copy: FHL Film 2228702.

1666 Hearth Tax

1692-1932 Land Taxes

1695 Inhabitants Lists

Add unique information about the censuses. Add links to online census records, and/or link to the Family History Library film/fiche numbers.

Civil Registration

All Hallows Barking.png
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Probate records

Will indexes for probate courts covering All Hallows Barking Parish are available online.

Before 1858, All Hallows Barking fell under the jurisdiction of the Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London. From 1858 to the present, refer to the Principal Probate Registry.

Go to London Probate Records to find the names of the courts having secondary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish.

Cemetery

All Hallows Barking monumental inscription

Transcripts of early All Hallows Barking tombs found in the interior of the church were published in Catalogue of the most Memorable Persons who had visible Tombs, plated Gravestones ... in the City of London (through) A.D. 1700, which is available online.[7]

A cemetery survey (1910), available online, covers monumental inscriptions in the All Hallows Barking churchyard.[8]

A survey of monumental brasses, published 1891, is available online.[9]

A 1934 survey of monuments within the church and in the churchyard is available online.[10]

Find A Grave lists information about 19 burials at All Hallows by the Tower Church.

Poor Law Unions

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: All Hallows-by-the-Tower
(The London Family History Centre Catalogue is a terrific resource for identifying FamilySearch's London collections).

References

  1. James Elmes, M.R. I. A., Architect, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Adapted. Digitised by Google Books.
  2. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 129-170. Adapted. Date accessed: 18 December 2013.
  3. Redstone, Lilian J., The history of All Hallows Church: to C. 1548, Survey of London: Volume 12 (1929) Adapted. Date accessed: 21 November 2013.
  4. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm
  5. John Hanson, 'City of London Burials,' Find My Past, accessed 8 June 2011.
  6. Taken from the Province of Canterbury Marriage Licenses and Allegations - Vicar General.
  7. Payne Fisher and G. Blacker Morgan, Catalogue of the Tombs in the Churches of the City of London, A.D. 1666 (1668; reprint, London: Hasell, Watson, Viney, Ld., 1885). Digitised by Internet Archive.
  8. Percy C. Rushden, The Churchyard Inscriptions of the City of London (London: Phillimore and Co., Ltd., 1910). Digitised by Internet Archive.
  9. Andrew Oliver, A List of Monumental Brasses in the City of London Churches (1891). Digitized by Internet Archive.
  10. 'Memorials in the church: Key plan', Survey of London: volume 15: All Hallows, Barking-by-the-Tower, pt II (1934), pp. 57. URL: http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=74972 Date accessed: 15 March 2012.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 19:59.
  • This page has been accessed 5,216 times.