All Saints in Stanway and Lexden, Essex GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Essex Gotoarrow.png Essex Parishes 

Guide to All Saints in Stanway and Lexden, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

All Saints in Stanway and Lexden, Essex
St Allbrights Stanway Essex.jpg
St Allbrights Stanway Essex
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Colchester Borough
County Essex
Poor Law Union Lexden and Winstree
Registration District Lexden
Records begin
Parish registers: 1845
Bishop's Transcripts: 1845
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Coggeshall
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Colchester
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office


Parish History

Stanway All Saints, is a chapelry in Stanway and Lexden parishes, Essex; it is 3 1/2 miles SW of Colchester railway station.[1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online images are available Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office Stanway All Saints See also St Albright

Non-Conformist Churhces


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241372.

Poor Law Unions

Lexden and Winstree Poor Law Union, Essex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex


  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870. Adapted: Date accessed: 22 May 2013.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 June 2015, at 21:03.
  • This page has been accessed 3,601 times.