Allestree, DerbyshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Parishes

Guide to Allestree, Derbyshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Allestree, Derbyshire
Allestree St Edmund Derbyshire.jpg
Allestree St Edmund Derbyshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Morlestone and Litchurch
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Belper PLU
Registration District Belper
Records begin
Parish records: 1595
Bishop's Transcripts: 1685
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Duffield
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Allestree is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Derbyshire, created in 1849 from chapelry in Mackworth Ancient Parish.

ALLESTREE (St. Andrew), a parish, in the union of Belper, hundred of Morleston and Litchurch, S. division of the county of Derby, 2 miles (N.) from Derby. There is a place of worshipfor Wesleyans. [1]

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241292.

Church records

Allestree, Derbyshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
Allestree St Edmund (1595) Chapelry (1849) Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's
None
None
None
None
None
None
PALL

1790-1812


Bishop's transcripts held at Lichfield Record Office Bap 1685-1868 Marr 1685-1836 Bur 1685-1867 Missing all events 1853-1863

To find the names of neighbouring parishes, use Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non-Conformist Churches

  • Wesleyan Methodist

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Registration District

  • Belper

Poor Law Unions

Belper Poor Law Union, Derbyshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 37-39. Adapted. Date accessed: 11 December 2013.
  2. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 14 April 2014, at 21:40.
  • This page has been accessed 991 times.