Allington, Dorset GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Allington, Dorset)

EnglandGotoarrow.png Dorset Gotoarrow.png Dorset Parishes

Guide to Allington, Dorset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Allington, Dorset
Type Civil parish
Ecclesiastical parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Godderthorne
County Dorset
Poor Law Union Bridport
Registration District Bridport
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bridport
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Dorset


Parish History

ALLINGTON (St. Swithin), a parish, in the union of Bridport, hundred of Godderthorne, Bridport division of Dorset, ¾ of a mile (N. W.) from Bridport. This parish, formerly a chapelry of Bridport.[1].


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Allington, Dorset Genealogy Parish Register Images and Indexes
1570-1819 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[2]
1813-1906 Ancestry[3] 1813-1921 Ancestry[4] 1820-1939 Ancestry[5]
Indexes 1732-1879 OnlineParishClerks 1538-1812 Ancestry[6] 1673-1837 findmypast[7]
1732-1879 FreeREG[8] 1570-1837 FreeREG[8] 1732-1879 FreeREG[8]
1746-1812 findmypast[9] 1570-1837 OnlineParishClerks 1732-1879 OnlineParishClerks
1570-1837 Joiner[10] 1746-1839 findmypast[11]
1570-1812 findmypast[12]
1570-1812 FamilyRelatives[13]
1654-1750 findmypast[14]
1790-1812 Ancestry[15]

Allington, Dorset Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[16]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[17]
Allington, Dorset Genealogy Online Parish Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1732-1879

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241337.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Dorset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. Samuel A. Lewis, Topographical Dictionary of England, publ. London: 1848. Date accessed: 03 July 3103.
  2. Dorset, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  3. Dorset, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  4. Dorset, England, Marriages and Banns, 1813-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  5. Dorset, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-2001, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  6. 'Vital Records Index - British Isles - Collection List,' British Isles Vital Records Index, 2nd ed., hosted at Genoot, accessed 21 May 2012.
  7. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 11 April 2012. For a breakdown of missing years, see 'National Burial Index - Coverage: Dorset,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 23 April 2012.
  8. 8.0 8.1 8.2 Dorset Coverage in FreeReg, FreeREG, accessed 21 May 2012.
  9. 'Dorset Baptism Index,' Find My Past, accessed 21 May 2012.
  10. 'Search Marriage Records in Dorset,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 21 May 2012.
  11. 'Dorset Burial Index,' Find My Past, accessed 21 May 2012.
  12. 'Dorset Marriages,' Find My Past, accessed 21 May 2012.
  13. 'Dorset Parish registers collection 1538 on,' Family Relatives, accessed 21 May 2012. Derived from Phillimore Marriage Indexes.
  14. "Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,", accessed 21 May 2012.
  15. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm
  16. 'Dorset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 10 January 2014.
  17. 'Parish Records,' TheGenealogist, accessed 26 April 2014.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 28 May 2015, at 19:24.
  • This page has been accessed 5,109 times.