Allt-mawr, BreconshireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
ALLTMAWR (ALLT-FAWR), a parish, in the union and hundred of Builth, county of Brecon, South Wales, 4 miles distant (S. E. by S.) from Builth. This parish, the name of which signifies "the great woody mount," is crossed by the turnpike-road from Builth to Hay, and comprises about 500 acres, one fourth of which is wood, and the remainder arable and pasture in nearly equal portions. The scenery on the banks of the river Wye, which forms the northern boundary, and in its immediate vicinity, is exceedingly romantic; and the view from Alltmawr House, a pretty villa in the parish, is one of the most delightful in this part of the principality. The church, dedicated to St. Mauritius, consists of a nave and chancel, both lately ceiled, and is remarkable for its diminutive size, being less than thirty-five feet in length; it stands just above the road side, and differs in its appearance from a neat cottage in no other respect than in having a small belfry near the west end of the roof.
Alltmawr Church is in the Diocese of Swansea and Brecon, in the community of Erwood in the county of Powys. It is located at Ordnance Survey national grid reference SO0733846879. For additional information see Brecknockshire Churches Survey.
Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464299. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:
- FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
- FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
Maps and Gazetteers
- This page was last modified on 22 January 2014, at 23:26.
- This page has been accessed 172 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More