Alnesbourne Priory, Suffolk GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Alnesbourn Priory, Suffolk)

England  Gotoarrow.png  Suffolk   Gotoarrow.png  Suffolk Parishes 

Guide to Alnesbourne Priory, Suffolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Alnesbourne Priory, Suffolk
Type Extra-parochial
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Colneis
County Suffolk
Poor Law Union Woodbridge PLU
Registration District Woodbridge
Records begin
Parish registers: For records see surrounding parishes
Bishop's Transcripts: For records see surrounding parishes
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not Applicable
Diocese Not Applicable
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Search the courts of the surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Suffolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Alnesbourne Priory, is a depopulated hamlet in Nacton parish, Suffolk; it is near the river Orwell, 4¼ miles SE of Ipswich.[1] Also see.[2]

The old priory was in the parish of Hallowtree or Halghetree, the church of which formed part of its parish boundary. Here was a small priory of Austin canons, dedicated to the Virgin Mary, and suppressed about the year 1466: there are still the remains of a chapel. The old church fell into complete ruin by 1514.

Resources

If you live in Suffolk you will have access to a variety of resources at local archives and libraries.  For those who live further afield, one can access microfilm and online records at LDS Family History Centres.  Refer to Alnesbourne and Suffolk in the FamilySearch Catalogue for available records.

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Parish Registers began in the 1500's. They can be viewed at the Suffolk Record Office. There are Bishop Transcripts and Parish Registers that have been filmed for most parishes in the County. See the Suffolk Church Records article for further details.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474637.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Suffolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Date accessed and adapted: 20 December 2013.
  2. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 39-44. Date accessed and adapted: 20 December 2013.

[[]]


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 22 May 2015, at 16:44.
  • This page has been accessed 1,567 times.