Althorne, EssexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Essex Gotoarrow.png  Essex Parishes Gotoarrow.png  Althorne

Guide to Althorne, Essex family history and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Althorne, Essex
Althorne St Andrew contributor Robert Edwards.jpg
Althorne St Andrew contributor Robert Edwards
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Dengie
County Essex
Poor Law Union Maldon PLU
Registration District Maldon
Records begin
Parish registers: 1734
Bishop's Transcripts: 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Dengie
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (Essex and Hertfordshire Division)
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

ALTHORNE (St. Andrew), a parish, in the union of Maldon, hundred of Dengie, S. division of Essex, 4 miles (N. W.) from Burnham. The parish was united to the rectory of Creeksea in 1811.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Althorne Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1813
1800
1813
Images 1813-1980 EssexAncestors[2] 1800-1956 EssexAncestors[2] 1813-1951 EssexAncestors[2]
Indexes 1813-1900 FreeREG[3] 1800-1900 FreeREG[3] 1813-1900 FreeREG[3]
1813-1877 FamilySearch[4] 1800-1881 FamilySearch[5] 1813-1951 FindMyPast[6]
1800 FindMyPast[7]

.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241366.


Poor Law Unions

Maldon Poor Law Union, Essex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 44-49. Adapted. Date accessed: 09 April 2013.
  2. 2.0 2.1 2.2 Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 3 March 2012.
  3. 3.0 3.1 3.2 Essex Coverage in FreeReg, FreeREG, accessed 15 April 2012.
  4. Batch C035951, see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for Essex, England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 20 April 2012.
  5. Batch M035951, see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for Essex, England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 20 April 2012.
  6. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 11 April 2012. For a breakdown of missing years, see 'National Burial Index - Coverage: Essex,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 23 April 2012.
  7. "Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county," Origins.net, accessed 12 June 2011; Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists Enterprises Ltd., 1994). FHL Book 942 K22L 1994

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 24 June 2014, at 22:20.
  • This page has been accessed 2,347 times.