Althorpe with Keadby, Lincolnshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lincolnshire Gotoarrow.pngLincolnshire Parishes

Guide to Althorpe with Keadby, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Althorpe with Keadby, Lincolnshire
Downloaded4404047589808096289 Althorpe St+Oswald Lincolnshire.JPG
Downloaded4404047589808096289 Althorpe St+Oswald Lincolnshire.JPG
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Manley
County Lincolnshire
Poor Law Union Thorne PLU
Registration District Thorne
Records begin
Parish registers: 1672
Bishop's Transcripts: 1599
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Manlake
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1834 - Court of the Archdeaconry of Stow; Post-1833 - Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lincolnshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Althorpe with Keadby St Oswald is an Ancient parish in the Isle of Axholme North Lincolnshire and includes Keadby.

The village lies within the civil parish of Keadby with Althorpe which includes the hamlet of Derrythorpe to the south. To the south of the village is the large civil parish of Belton (near Epworth), Lincolnshire, and next the Trent is part of West Butterwick, Lincolnshire. It is one of twelve parishes in the Isle of Axholme, and before 1996, was in the Boothferry district of Humberside. It is in the Axholme North ward of North Lincolnshire. There used to be only eight parishes in the Isle of Axholme. Amcotts, Lincolnshirewas created from part of Althorpe in 1850.

ALTHORP (St. Oswald), a parish, in the union of Thorne, W. division of the wapentake of Manley, parts of Lindsey, county of Lincoln, 11 miles (W. by N.) from Glandford-Brigg; containing, with the townships of Amcotts and Keadby. There is a chapel of ease at Amcotts. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

This parish was part of the Thorne registration district from 1837-1947 when it became part of the Don Valley registration district. Thorne registration district

Registers are now held at North Lincolnshire
The Register Office
92 Oswald Road
Scunthorpe
DN15 7PA
01724 843915. registrars@northlincs.gov.uk

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Althorpe with Keadby

The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images  via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Althorpe Par 1 will identify available images.

Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives, St Rumbold Street,Lincoln,Lincolnshire,LN2 5AB,England Enquiries: lincolnshire.archives@lincolnshire.gov.uk The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing efforts to provide an online catalogue

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438760.

Poor Law Unions

Thorne Poor Law Union, Yorkshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 44-49. Date accessed: 31 July 2013.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 22:22.
  • This page has been accessed 2,562 times.