Alton Priors, Wiltshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Alton Priors, Wiltshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Wiltshire Gotoarrow.png Wiltshire Parishes

Guide to Alton Priors, Wiltshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Alton Priors, Wiltshire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Elstub and Everley
County Wiltshire
Poor Law Union Pewsey PLU
Registration District Pewsey
Records begin
Parish registers: 1664; For more records see Overton
Bishop's Transcripts: 1605
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Avebury
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Wiltshire
Location of Archive
Wiltshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

ALTON-PRIORS, a chapelry, in the parish of Overton, union of Pewsey, hundred of Elstub and Everley, Everley and Pewsey, and S. divisions of Wilts, 7 miles (E. by N.) from Devizes. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Alton Priors, Wiltshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

NIM = Nimrod Research - (£). Results delivered by email.[2]
Alton Priors, Wiltshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
NIM 1604-1840
1605-1837
1619-1837

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464196.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Wiltshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 44-49. Date accessed: 12 August 2013.
  2. 'Wiltshire Parish Explorer,' Nimrod Research, accessed 8 January 2014.

[{Wiltshire}}


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 22:46.
  • This page has been accessed 1,236 times.