Alwington, Devon GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Alwington, Devon)

EnglandGotoarrow.pngDevonGotoarrow.pngDevon Parishes Guide to Alwington, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Alwington, Devon
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Shebbear
County Devon
Poor Law Union Bideford PLU
Registration District Bideford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1549
Bishop's Transcripts: 1597
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Hartland
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Barnstaple
Location of Archive
Devon Record Office

Contents

Parish History

ALWINGTON (St. Andrew), a parish, in the union of Bideford, hundred of Shebbear, Great Torrington and N. divisions of Devon, 4 miles (S. W. by W.) from Bideford; containing, with the hamlets of Fairy Cross, Ford, and Woodtown. There is a parochial school; also a place of worship for Wesleyans; and almshouses for three poor persons. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Alwington, Devon Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
FMP = Devon Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)[3]
FMP = findmypast - (£)
FREG = FreeReg.org.uk - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[4]
ALWINGTON PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD

1555-1812


FMP 1556-1903 1556-1903



FMP

1549-1812


FREG 1652-1716
1653-1716
1653-1775
IGI 1550-1812
1554-1812


Non-Conformist Churches
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241320.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable web sites are:

  • 1851 Jurisdiction Maps
    *Vision of Britain

Websites

Alwington on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 49-53. Date accessed: 04 June 2012.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Devon Parish Records Coverage,' Findmypast, accessed 15 November 2014.
  4. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Devon, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 12 February 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 1 June 2015, at 17:55.
  • This page has been accessed 7,592 times.