Amberley, Gloucestershire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Amberley, Gloucestershire)

England  Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Parishes

Guide to Amberley, Gloucestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Amberley, Gloucestershire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Longtree
County Gloucestershire
Poor Law Union Stroud PLU
Registration District Stroud
Records begin
Parish registers: 1837
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Stonehouse
Diocese Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Gloucester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Gloucestershire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

HAMPTON, MINCHIN (Holy Trinity), a markettown and parish, in the union of Stroud, hundred of Longtree, E. division of the county of Gloucester,14 miles (S.) from Gloucester, and 100 (W.) from London. Minchin-Hampton has been divided, ecclesiastically,into three parishes; namely, Minchin-Hampton, including the town, with the hamlets of Box, Forwood, and Holcombe, and Amberley, including the hamlets of Littleworth, Theescombe, and St. Cloe, and Brimscombe, including the hamlets of Chalford, Hyde, Burley, Brimscombe, and Cowcombe. Here are places of worship for Baptists and Wesleyans. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Church records

Amberley, Gloucestershire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials (Ancestry) - (£)[2][3][4][5]
Amberley, Gloucestershire Genealogy Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1841-1938 1841-1938

Online Parish Clerks

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288769.


Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Maps and Gazetteers

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 391-396. Date accessed: 31 December 2012.
  2. 'Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1813,' Ancestry, accessed 14 February 2015.
  3. 'Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1913,' Ancestry, accessed 14 February 2015.
  4. 'Gloucestershire, England, Marriages, 1754-1938,' Ancestry, accessed 14 February 2015.
  5. 'Gloucestershire, England, Burials, 1813-1988,' Ancestry, accessed 14 February 2015.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 March 2015, at 23:39.
  • This page has been accessed 1,285 times.