Anambra State, NigeriaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Africa Gotoarrow.png Nigeria Gotoarrow.png Anambra State

Guide to Anambra State, Nigeria ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

Contents

Information

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Anambra State
Anambra is a state in south-eastern Nigeria. Its state theme is "Light Of The Nation" Its boundaries are formed by Delta State to the west, Imo State to the south, Enugu State to the east and Kogi State to the north. The origin of the name is derived from the Anambra River which is a tributary of the the famous River Niger.

The indigenous ethnic group in Anambra state are the Igbo (98% of population) and a small population of Igala (2% of the population) who live in the western part of the state.

Local Government Areas

Other main towns

Other main towns of Anambra state are: Igbariam, Nkwelle-Ezunaka, Abatete, Awka-Etiti, Achina, Agulu, Amorka, Aguluezechukwu, Ogidi, Obosi, Ihiala, Amichi, Uga, Uli,Ubuluisiuzor, Abagana, Alor, Nsugbe, Atani, Nkpor, Eziowelle, Oba, Omor, Ichi, Ojoto, Oraifite, Ozubulu, Umuawulu, Umuoji, Umunachi, Umudioka, Unubi, Umunya, Umuleri, Utuh, Ogbunike, Aguleri, Ekwulobia, Igbo-ukwu, Ichida, Ora-Eri, Ihembosi, Akwaukwu, Uke, Ukpo, Ifite - Dunu, Okija, Oko, Oraukwu, Osumenyi, Otu-ocha, Nnobi, Nnokwa, Ideani, Adazi-Nnukwu, Adazi-Enu, Umuanaga, Adazi Ani, Nanka, Nimo, Nneni, Nmiata-Anam, Awkuzu, Ebenebe, Enugwu-Ukwu, Enugwu-Agidi, Umueze-Anam, Nawfia, Amawbia, Agukwu, Nando, Nanka, Nnokwa, Amansea, Amanuke, Achalla, Mgbakwu, Ugbenu, Ugbenne, Umuchu, Umuomaku, Isuaniocha, Azia, Utuh, Akwaeze, Omogho, Amesi, Ebenator, Nibo, Mbaukwu, Nise, Achala, Ukpor.

History

Anambra possesses a history that stretches back to the 9th century AD, as revealed by archaeological excavations at Igbo-Ukwu and Ezira; Great works of art in iron, bronze, copper, and pottery works belonging to the ancient Kingdom of Nri, revealed a sophisticated divine Kingship administrative system which held sway in the area of Anambra from c. 948 AD to 1911.

During the Nigerian/Biafran war, a relief airstrip, was constructed by Biafran engineers in the town of Uli/Amorka (code named "Annabelle"). Extremely dangerous relief flights took off from Sao Tome and other sites loaded with tons of food and medicine for the distressed Biafran population. Uli/Amorka airstrip was the site where brave American pilots like Alex Nicoll, and scores of others, made the supreme sacrifice in the service of humanity, delivering tons of relief supplies to the Biafran population. Disgusted by the suffering and mounting death toll in Biafra from starvation as well as the continuous harassment of the relief planes by the Nigerian Airforce, Carl Gustaf von Rosen resigned as a Red Cross relief pilot and helped Biafra to form an Airforce of five Minicoin planes Malmö MFI-9 stationed at the Uga airstrip. He named his tiny but effective airforce "Babies of Biafra" in honour of the babies who died via starvation inside Biafra.

Old Anambra State was created in 1976 from part of East Central State, and its capital was Enugu. A further re-organisation in 1991 divided Anambra into two states, Anambra and Enugu. The capital of Anambra is Awka.

Genealogy

Websites

References


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 February 2015, at 18:40.
  • This page has been accessed 2,897 times.