Anderby, Lincolnshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Anderby, Lincolnshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Lincolnshire Gotoarrow.pngLincolnshire Parishes

Guide to Anderby, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Anderby, Lincolnshire
Anderby St Andrew Lincolnshire.jpg
Anderby St Andrew Lincolnshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Calceworth Hundred
County Lincolnshire
Poor Law Union Spilsby PLU
Registration District Spilsby
Records begin
Parish registers: 1563
Bishop's Transcripts: 1561
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Calcewaith
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lincolnshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

ANDERBY (St. Andrew), a parish, in the union of Spilsby, Marsh division of the hundred of Calceworth, parts of Lindsey, county of Lincoln, 4¼ miles (E. by S.) from Alford. There is a place of worship for Wesleyan Methodists. [1]

Anderby St Andrew is an Ancient parish; the church is a grade II listed building dating from 1757 with 1887 restorations. In the churchyard a 14th century cross is also a scheduled monument and Grade II listed by English Heritage.

A Wesleyan Methodist chapel was built here in 1839.

Resources

Civil Registration

This parish was in the Alford sub-district of Spilsby registration district.

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives,

St Rumbold Street
Lincoln
Lincolnshire
LN2 5AB
England

Enquiries: lincolnshire.archives@lincolnshire.gov.uk The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing efforts to provide an online catalogue.

The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images  via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Anderby Par 1 will identify available images.

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Anderby

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438760.


Poor Law Unions

Spilsby Poor Law Union, Lincolnshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Anderby Genuki

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 53-58. Date accessed: 31 July 2013.

Lincolnshire


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 22:22.
  • This page has been accessed 1,396 times.