Anderson, Dorset GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Anderson, Dorset)

England Gotoarrow.png Dorset Gotoarrow.png Dorset Parishes

Guide to Anderson, Dorset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Anderson, Dorset
Type Civil parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Coombs Ditch
County Dorset
Poor Law Union Blandford PLU
Registration District Blandford
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Parish Winterborne Zelston
Rural Deanery Whitchurch
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Dean of Salisbury

Also known as Winterborne Anderson.

Contents

Parish History

ANDERSTON, or Anderson (St. Michael), a parish, in the union of Blandford, hundred of CoombsDitch, Blandford division of Dorset, 6 miles (S.) from the town of Blandford. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Anderson, Dorset Genealogy Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1750
1606
1750
Images
1750-1819 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[2]
1813-1899 Ancestry[3] 1813-1919 Ancestry[4] 1813-1979 Ancestry[5]
Indexes 1606-1837 Joiner[6] 1764-1836 findmypast[7]
1757-1836 findmypast[8]

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241336.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Dorset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, Topographical Dictionary of England. Accessed: 31 January 2013.
  2. Dorset, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  3. Dorset, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  4. Dorset, England, Marriages and Banns, 1813-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  5. Dorset, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-2001, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  6. 'Search Marriage Records in Dorset,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 4 July 2012.
  7. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 11 April 2012. For a breakdown of missing years, see 'National Burial Index - Coverage: Dorset,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 23 April 2012.
  8. 'Dorset Marriages,' Find My Past, accessed 28 July 2012.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 28 May 2015, at 19:24.
  • This page has been accessed 2,946 times.