Andrews County, Texas GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Andrews County Texas ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Andrews County, Texas|
Location of Texas in the U.S.
|Founded||August 21, 1876|
|Address|| Andrews County Courthouse|
215 NW 1st Street
Andrews, TX 79714
Andrews County Website
County Clerk has birth, marriage and court records from 1910,
probate records from 1911 and land records from 1884;
District Clerk has divorce record
215 NW 1st Street
P.O. Box 328
1876--Andrews County was created 21 August 1876 from the Bexar Land District. County seat: Andrews 
The county was named for Richard Andrews, who was killed in the Texas Revolution.
County Seat: Andrews
Family Group Sheets
- Texas, Freedmen's Bureau Field Office Records, 1865-1870(images) - FamilySearch
Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.
|Online Grave Transcripts||Published Grave Transcripts||County Cemetery Directories|
|Family History Library|
|See Texas Cemeteries for more information.|
Additional Cemetery Sources
- Andrews County Cemetery (also knows as Andrews Old)
- Andrews North Cemetery (connected with the Andrews Old Cemetery)
- Andrews West Cemetery
- Shafter Lake Cemetery
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death/burial date and place. For general information about Texas denominations, view the Texas Church Records wiki page.
Andrews County Church Listings- Incomplete list
After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, have been recorded by the county. You can obtain copies of these land records by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse. For more information, see Texas Land and Property.
The FamilySearch Catalog lists microfilm copies of deeds, trust deeds, and mortgages of many counties.
Local histories are available for Andrews County, Texas Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Texas Local Histories.
- Andrews County History
- Andrews County History from the Handbook of Texas Online
- Andrews County History, 1876–1978, published in 1978, by the Andrews County Heritage Committee
- Andrews County 1887
- Andrews County 1895
- Texas Counties Map. Click on the county to go to the Texas Genweb site
- Confederate Pension Applications ~ Texas State Library and Archives Commission
- Fallen Heroes
- Military Records of Andrews County residents
- Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 - FamilySearch
- Texas, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 - FamilySearch
- 1838 - 1900 Texas Muster Roll Index Cards 1838-1900 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1845 - 1848 US American Volunteer Soldiers Mexican War 1845-1848 at Ancestry.com — index $
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Andrews County, Texas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
Newspapers from the Andrews County Area
Online Newspaper Abstracts
Newspaper Extracts and Abstracts in Book Form
Probate records of Texas have been kept by the probate clerk in each county courthouse. You can obtain copies of the records from the clerk's office. In most counties, all information pertaining to a probate case is recorded in the "probate minutes."
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records.
See the Wiki page Texas Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
Texas, Probate Records, 1800-1990 (images) - FamilySearch
Texas tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Texas Taxation.
Texas County Tax Rolls, 1846-1910 lists FHL films with county tax lists. The lists vary by county and year. Most records are between the years of 1846 - 1910.
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. United States Vital Records has additional research guidance on researching and using vital records. See Texas Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Texas or How to order Texas Vital Records
A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred, ordered electronically online or download an application for Texas Birth and Death Certificate, Marriage or Divorce Verification Application to mail.
Online Birth Indexes and Records
- Andrews County Birth Records. The birth records are from 1917-1995.Courtesty TX GenWeb.
- Texas, Birth Certificates, 1903-1935 (images and index) - FamilySearch
- Texas Birth Index, 1903-1997 (index)- FamilySearch
- Texas Birth Index 1903-1997 (index and images) - Ancestry ($)
- 1840 - 1981 Texas Births and Christenings 1840-1981 at FamilySearch.org — index
Original Birth Records on Microfilm
Online Marriage Indexes and Records
- Andrews County Marriage Records. The marriage records are from 1910-2010. Courtesty TXGenWeb.
- Texas, County Marriage Index, 1837-1977 - FamilySearch records collection
- Texas, Marriages, 1837-1973 - FamilySearch record collection
- Texas, Marriages, 1966-2010 - FamilySearch record collection
- Texas County Marriage Records, 1837-1977 - FamilySearch. Index to a variety of marriage records (registers, licenses, intentions to marry, etc.) from select counties in Texas.
- 1814 - 1909 and 1966 - 2011 Texas Marriage Collection 1814-1909 and 1966-2011 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1837 - 1977 Texas Select County Marriage Index 1837-1977 at Ancestry.com — index $
Original Marriage Records on Microfilm
Online Death Indexes and Records
- Andrews County Death Certificate Project. The death certificates consist of Images and/or Transcriptions from Andrews County and and a few from surrounding counties. Courtesty TX GenWeb.
- Texas, Death Index, 1903-2000 (index) - FamilySearch
- Texas Death Records 1890 – 1976 [with images]
Name index and images of statewide death certificates, 1890-1976. The name index has been created by FamilySearch and is tied to images of the Texas death certificates. Few certificates are available prior to 1903.
- Texas Death Index 1964 to 1998 [no images] Name index to Texas Statewide Death Certificates or four million people who have died since 1964.
- Texas Deaths and Burials 1903 - 1973 (index) - FamilySearch
- 1977 - 1986 Texas Deaths 1977-1986 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1903 - 1973 Texas Deaths and Burials 1903-1973 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1903 - 1982 Texas Death Certificates 1903-1982 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
Original Death Records on Microfilm
- Andrews County Divorce Records. The divorce records are from 1968-2005. Courtesty TX GenWeb.
- 1968-2010 Texas Divorce Index 1968-2010 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1968 - 2011 Texas Divorces 1968-2011 at Ancestry.com — index $
Societies and Libraries
Andews County Library The library has a small genealogical collection in the library. They have Microfilm of several newspapers.
Andrews County Genealogy Society The members assist researches at the Andrews County Library. At present they are not meeting formally
- Patricia Tousch is the leader and contact person for help: (432) 523-4759[[Image:]](432) 523-4759
Family History Centers
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Centers for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center. Locations
- TEXAS GenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the county.
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Cyndi's List ~ Texas - Links pertaining to Texas and counties
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Andrews County, Texas. Page 658 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- This page was last modified on 2 July 2015, at 01:50.
- This page has been accessed 19,421 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News