Anglesey, Wales GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Anglesey, Wales ancestry, family history and genealogy parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Anglesey (Welsh: Sir Fôn or Môn) was one of the thirteen historic counties of Wales.
It is an island in the Irish Sea, separated from mainland Wales by the Menai Strait.
The county was created under the terms of the Statute of Rhuddlan in 1284 and consisted of the cantrefi (hundreds) of Aberffraw; Rhosyr and Cemais.
Motto: Môn Mam Cymru (English: Anglesey, Mother of Wales)
Chapman Code: AGY
Under the Local Government Act 1972, the county and administrative county of Anglesey were abolished, for both local government and ceremonial purposes, on April 1, 1974. Anglesey became part of the newly formed county of Gwynedd, which covered the whole of north-west Wales.
Following further local government reorganisation the county of Gwynedd was re-structured, and on April 1, 1996 the county status of Anglesey was restored.
The county was later renamed, the Isle of Anglesey.
- Parish: an area of varying size under the responsibility of a clergyman of the Church of England/Church in Wales
- Hundred: an administrative subdivision of a county, usually a group of two or more parishes
- Sub-district: comprised of more than one civil parish
- Registration District
- Poor Law Union
See a list of the parishes in Anglesey with links to their pages.
- Anglesey Resources and Help pages RootsChat Anglesey Resources and Help pages. (Free).
- This page was last modified on 10 February 2016, at 17:06.
- This page has been accessed 6,450 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News