Anslow Holy Trinity, Staffordshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire

Anslow Holy Trinity

Contents

Parish History

Anslow Holy Trinity was initially a mission church to Rolleston, Staffordshire It was formed as a parish in 1861 from parts of Rolleston, Staffordshire and Tutbury, Staffordshire Ecclesiastical Parishes.

In 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales described Anslow like this:

ANSLOW, or Annesley, a township-chapelry in Rolleston parish, Stafford; near the Grand Trunk canal, 3½ miles NW of Burton-on-Trent. Post Town, Burton on Trent. Real property, £2,929. Pop., 348. Houses, 74. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Lichfield. Value, not reported. Patron, Sir O. Mosley, Bart. There is a Wesleyan chapel.

Old Mission Church Anslow


Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Staffordshire BMD includes registered births for the Burton upon Trent Registration District .

Church records

Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1860-1908  Mar 1862-1989 Bur 1860-1971
Lichfield Record Office holdings of Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1860-1862 Mar none Bur 1860-1864

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.


Non-Conformist Churches

Census records

Poor Law Unions

Burton upon Trent Poor Law Union,Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 22:40.
  • This page has been accessed 1,050 times.