Anstey, Leicestershire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Anstey, Leicestershire)

England  Gotoarrow.png  Leicestershire Gotoarrow.png  Leicestershire Parishes

Guide to Anstey, Leicestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Anstey, Leicestershire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred West Goscote
County Leicestershire
Poor Law Union Barrow upon Soar PLU
Registration District Barrow upon Soar
Records begin
Parish registers: 1556; For more records see Thurcaston
Bishop's Transcripts: 1633
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Goscote
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of Groby
Location of Archive
Leicestershire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

ANSTEY (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Barrow-upon-Soar, hundred of West Goscote, N. division of the county of Leicester, 3¾ miles (N. W.) from Leicester. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Anstey, Leicestershire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PC = Parish Chest - (£). Results delivered by email.[2]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[3]
ANSTEY PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PC 1570-1892
1570-1892
1570-1892
PRTS
1556-1837

Deposited records are found at the Leicester and Rutland Record Office

Contact: The Record Office
Telephone: 0116 2571080
Fax: 0116 2571120
E-mail: recordoffice@leics.gov.uk

Diocese of Leicester: Anstey Bap 1571 - 1976 Marr 1556 - 1992 (Banns to1986) Bur 1557 - 1967
Non Conformist records available at the Leicester and Rutland Office include:

Anstey Methodist (Bradgate Road) Baptisms 1898-1941 reference N/M/179/421

Anstey Methodist Marriages 1911-1970 Reference N/M/207/316-321

Anstey Wesleyan Methodist Births, Baptisms 1810-1837

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438746.


Poor Law Unions

Barrow upon Soar Poor Law Union, Leicestershire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Leicestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 58-62. Date accessed: 27 July 2013.
  2. 'Leicestershire Parish Registers', Parish Chest, accessed 24 January 2014.
  3. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 27 September 2013.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 8 June 2015, at 22:59.
  • This page has been accessed 3,148 times.