Ansty, WiltshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  WiltshireGotoarrow.png  Wiltshire Parishes

Ansty, Wiltshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Dunworth
County Wiltshire
Poor Law Union Tisbury PLU
Registration District Tisbury
Records begin
Parish registers: 1654
Bishop's Transcripts: 1831
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Chalke
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Salisbury
Location of Archive
Wiltshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

ANSTEY (St. James), a parish, in the union of Tisbury, hundred of Dunworth, Hindon and S. divisions of Wilts, 5¼ miles (S. E. by S.) from Hindon. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Ansty, Wiltshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[2]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
NIM = Nimrod Research - (£). Results delivered by email.[4]
Ansty, Wiltshire Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1500s-1800s
IGI 1752-1856 1700s-1766, 1802-1838
NIM 1654-1837
1655-1837
1654-1837

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464195.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Wiltshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 58-62. Date accessed: 12 August 2013.
  2. 'Search more than 99,000 new Wiltshire parish baptism records,' FindMyPast, accessed 3 June 2014. Coverage year range is not clearly identified.
  3. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Wiltshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 13 January 2014.
  4. 'Wiltshire Parish Explorer,' Nimrod Research, accessed 8 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 June 2014, at 17:54.
  • This page has been accessed 683 times.