Appleby, Derbyshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Appleby, Derbyshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Parishes

Guide to Appleby, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Appleby, Derbyshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Repton and Gresley; Sparkenhoe
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Ashby de la Zouch
Registration District Ashby de la Zouch
Records begin
Parish registers: 1573
Bishop's Transcripts: 1570
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Sparkenhoe
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Leicester
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office


For more information and records see Appleby, Leicestershire.

Parish History

Appleby is an Ancient parish mostly in Leicestershire and partly in Derbyshire.

The larger part in Appleby Magna or Great Appleby contains the Parish church of St Michael and All Angels.

The Derbyshire portion of the parish transferred to the county of Leicestershire in 1897. The parish was in the diocese of Peterborough and later the Diocese of Leicester.

refer to Appleby, Leicestershire for further information.

APPLEBY (St. Michael), a parish, in the union of Ashby-de-la-Zouch, partly in the hundred of Repton and Gresley, S. division of the county of Derby, but chiefly in the hundred of Sparkenhoe, S. division of Leicester, 5¾ miles (S. W. by S.) from Ashby. The church, which is in Leicestershire, was repaired and repewed in 1830.[1]


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241238.

Church records

Appleby, parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
Appleby Parish (1897) Online Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images

To find the names of neighbouring parishes, use Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non-Conformist Churches
  • General Baptist
  • Particular Baptist
  • Wesleyan Methodist.

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Registration District
  • Ashby de la Zouch

Poor Law Unions

Ashby de la Zouch Poor Law Union, Leicestershire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


Appleby on GENUKI


  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, Accessed: 29 March, 2013.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 June 2015, at 12:41.
  • This page has been accessed 2,371 times.