Appleby Magna, Leicestershire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Appleby, Leicestershire)

England Gotoarrow.png  LeicestershireGotoarrow.png  Leicestershire Parishes

Guide to Appleby Magna, Leicestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Appleby Magna, Leicestershire
St Michael's And All Angels Church Appleby Magna.jpg
St Michael's And All Angels Church Appleby Magna
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Repton and Gresley; Sparkenhoe
County Leicestershire
Poor Law Union Ashby de la Zouch PLU
Registration District Ashby de la Zouch
Records begin
Parish registers: 1573
Bishop's Transcripts: 1570
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Sparkenhoe
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Leicester
Location of Archive
Leicestershire Record Office

Contents

Part of this parish is in Derbyshire. See also Appleby, Derbyshire.

Parish History

APPLEBY (St. Michael), a parish, in the union of Ashby-de-la-Zouch, partly in the hundred of Repton and Gresley, S. division of the county of Derby, but chiefly in the hundred of Sparkenhoe, S. division of Leicester, 5¾ miles (S. W. by S.) from Ashby. [1]

In 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales described Appleby Magna like this:

APPLEBY, a village and a parish in Ashby-de-la Zouch district, on the confines of Leicester and Derby. The village stands 1½ mile WSW of the Mease river and the Ashby-de-la-Zouch canal, and 6 miles SW by S of Ashby-de-la-Zouch r. station. There are three dissenting chapels.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Appleby Magna, Leicestershire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PC = Parish Chest - (£). Results delivered by email.[2]
Appleby Magna, Leicestershire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PC 1574-1911
1574-1911
1574-1907

The parish was in the diocese of Peterborough later the Diocese of Leicester. Since 1897 wholly in the county of Leicestershire there are no deposited records in the Derbyshire Record Office for that part of the parish.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438748.


Poor Law Unions

Ashby de la Zouch Poor Law Union, Leicestershire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Leicestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 62-66. Date accessed: 13 August 2012.
  2. 'Leicestershire Parish Registers', Parish Chest, accessed 24 January 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 22:21.
  • This page has been accessed 2,315 times.