Appleford, Berkshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Appleford, Berkshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Berkshire Gotoarrow.png Berkshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Appleford

Guide to Appleford, Berkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Appleford, Berkshire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Ock
County Berkshire
Poor Law Union Abingdon PLU
Registration District Abingdon
Records begin
Parish registers: 1563; For more records see Sutton Courtenay
Bishop's Transcripts: 1610
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Abingdon
Diocese Pre-1836 - Salisbury; Post-1835 - Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Berkshire
Location of Archive
Berkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

APPLEFORD, is a chapelry, in the parish of Sutton Courtney, union of Abingdon, hundred of Ock, and county of Berkshire, it is 3½ miles S. E. from Abingdon. Here is a station of the Oxford branch of the Great Western railway. The chapel is dedicated to St. Peter and St. Paul.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Appleford, Berkshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BERK = Berkshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£).[2]
BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[3]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[4]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[5]
OFHS = Oxfordshire Family History Society - (£). Results delivered by email.[6]
Appleford, Berkshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BERK Undefined

Undefined
BIVRI 1612-1835 (gaps)
1612-1833 (gaps)

IGI 1563-1812 1567-1837
JOIN
1567-1837

OFHS 1563-1989
1567-1989
1564-1988

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non-Conformist Churches

None

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241203.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Berkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

Appleford Chapelry in the parish of Sutton Courtney in GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 66-69 Accessed. 25 Mar 2013
  2. 'New Berkshire parish records published on findmypast.co.uk,', findmypast, accessed 28 January 2014.
  3. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 30 January 2014.
  4. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Berkshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 31 January 2014.
  5. 'Berkshire Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 27 January 2014.
  6. 'OFHS Parish Records Date Finder,', Oxfordshire Family History Society, accessed 21 January 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 March 2015, at 17:33.
  • This page has been accessed 2,679 times.