Appomattox County, VirginiaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States go to Virginia go to Appomattox County

Guide to Appomattox County Virginia genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, immigration records, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Virginia
Online Records
Appomattox County, Virginia
Map
Boundary map of Appomattox County, Virginia
Map of Virginia highlighting Appomattox County
Location in the state of Virginia
Map of the U.S. highlighting Virginia
Location of Virginia in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 8, 1845
County Seat Appomattox
Courthouse

Contents

Appomattox County Virginia Courthouse

Appomattox County Courthouse, Appomattox, Va.
 

Appomattox County Courthouse
P.O. Box 672
Appomattox, VA 24522-0672
Phone: 804-352-5275

Clerk Circuit Court has marriage, divorce and probate records from 1892, court and land records [1]



Beginning Dates for Appomattox County, Virginia Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1853 1854 1853 1850

Appomattox County Virginia History

Appomattox River at Matoaca, Va.

The county was named after the Appomattox River.[2]

Parent County

1845--Appomattox County was created 8 February 1845 from Buckingham, Campbell, Charlotte and Prince Edward Counties.
County seat: Appomattox [1]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Virginia county boundary changes, visit "Rotating Formation Virginia County Boundary Maps" (1617-1995) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

Sign recounting 1892 destruction of Appomattox County's Courthouse
For a list of record loss in Virginia counties see: Virginia Counties with Burned Courthouses

Fire.png
1892. All county courthouse records except land tax books were destroyed by fire in 1892.[3] [4]

Visit the Library of Virginia's website to determine exactly what records have been lost and their Lost Records Localities Database to find additional resources.

The Appomattox County VAGenWeb page identifies surviving church and vital records.

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Appomattox County Virginia Genealogy Resources

Vaappomattox.jpg

Research Guides

African American

Freedmen's Bureau Letters or Correspondence, 1865-1872

Bible Records

Images of the Virginia Historical Society's family Bible collection have been digitized:

Additional Bible records include:

Cemeteries

For a detailed list, including addresses, phone numbers, and external links, see Appomattox County, Virginia Cemeteries.

The following is a list of cemeteries in Appomattox County:[5]

  • Appomattox Cemetery
  • Babcock Cemetery
  • Concord Cemetery
  • Evergreen Cemetery
  • Mount Zion Cemetery
  • Patterson-Hix Burial Ground
  • Rebecca Cemetery

Census

For tips on accessing Appomattox County, Virginia census records online, see: Virginia Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1850 9,193
1860 8,889 −3.3%
1870 8,950 0.7%
1880 10,080 12.6%
1890 9,589 −4.9%
1900 9,662 0.8%
1910 8,904 −7.8%
1920 9,255 3.9%
1930 8,402 −9.2%
1940 9,020 7.4%
1950 8,764 −2.8%
1960 9,148 4.4%
1970 9,784 7.0%
1980 11,971 22.4%
1990 12,298 2.7%
2000 13,705 11.4%
Source: "American FactFinder". United States Census Bureau.
1890 Union Veterans

Church Records

Court

Genealogy

More than a dozen genealogies have been published about Appomattox County families. To view a list, visit Appomattox County, Virginia Genealogy.

Historic Residences

  • Smith, Ethel Marion. "Clover Hill. Early History of an Old Appomattox Landmark," The Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 57, No. 3 (Jul., 1949), pp. 269-273. Digital version at JSTOR ($). [Includes information about the Patteson family.]

Land and Property

Grants and Patents

Land patents (pre-1779), land grants (after 1779) and surveys are available online at the Library of Virginia website. For step-by-step instructions on retrieving these records, read the Virginia Land and Property article.

Local Histories

  • Featherston, Nathaniel Ragland. Appomattox County History and Genealogy. Baltimore, MD: Reprinted for Clearfield Co. by Genealogical Pub. Co., 1998. Available at FHL US/CAN Book 975.5625 H2f. Digital version at World Vital Records ($). This book contains numerous genealogies for families of Appomattox County. For a list of surnames please see World Vital Records ($).

Maps

Migration

Military

War of 1812
  • List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Governnment Printing Office, 1883. FHL 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. [See Vol. 5, Virginia, Appomattox County, pp. 61-62.]
Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Appomattox County, Virginia served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Appomattox County, Virginia:

- 2nd Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company H (Appomattox Rangers)
- 18th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company H (Appomattox Grays).[6]
- 20th Battalion, Virginia Heavy Artillery (Confederate). Company C.[7]
- 44th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company A (Appomattox Invincibles).[8]
- 46th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company A (Liberty Guards).[9]

Records and histories are available, including:

Civil War Battle

The following battles were fought in Appomattox County.

April 8, 1865 = Appomattox Station [10]
April 9, 1865 = Appomattox Court House[11]
Maps of Civil War battles in Virginia: 1861, 1862, 1863, 1864, 1865

Naturalization

Virginia Naturalization Petitions, 1906-1929

Newspapers

The Virginia Newspapers Project identifies local Appomattox County, Virginia newspapers.

Petitions

  • Eckenrode, H.J. Virginia State Library: A Calendar of Legislative Petitions Arranged by Counties Accomac - Bedford. Richmond, Va.: Davis Bottom, Superintendent of Public Printing, 1908. Digital version at Google Books. [Appomattox County petitions (1846-1860) are described on pp. 132-135.]

Probate Records

Taxation

  • [1845] Chilton, Harriett A. Appomattox County, Virginia Tax Lists, 1845 Only Extant Record for the First Year the County was Established, Includes Land Tax Rolls, Personal Property Tax Rolls. Falls Church, Va.: H.A. Chilton?, 1975. FHL 975.5625 R4c

Vital Records

Indexes to Appomattox County, Virginia births, marriages, and deaths are available online. These collections are incomplete, but are easy to search. Most records can also be ordered electronically online as well. Courtesy: FamilySearch - free. See also How to order Virginia Vital Records

Marriage
Death

Appomattox County, Virginia deaths are included in the Library of Virginia's Death Index of Virginia, 1853-1896, sponsored by The Virginia Genealogical Society, available online - free.

Vital Record Substitutes

Appomattox County Virginia Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Appomattox County Virginia Genealogy Websites

Appomattox County Virginia Genealogy References

  1. 1.0 1.1 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Appomattox County, Virginia. Page 710 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia Contributors, "Appomattox County, Virginia," in Wikipedia: The Free Encyclopedia, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Appomattox_County,_Virginia, accessed 13 January 2012.
  3. Lost Records Localities: Counties and Cities with Missing Records, 2, in Library of Virginia (accessed 4 April 2014).
  4. Burned Record Counties (VA-NOTES). (n.d.). Library of Virginia. Retrieved October 1, 2009, from http://www.lva.virginia.gov/public/guides/va22_burnedco.htm.
  5. USGS Map, Topozone.com
  6. James I. Robertson, 18th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1984). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 12.
  7. Tracy Chernault and Jeffrey C. Weaver, 18th and 20th Battalions of Heavy Artillery (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1995). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 113.
  8. Kevin C. Ruffner, 44th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1987). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 39.
  9. Darrell L. Collins, 46th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1992). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 85.
  10. Heritage Preservation Services,Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 2 August 2012)
  11. Heritage Preservation Services,Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 2 August 2012)


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 April 2014, at 15:58.
  • This page has been accessed 17,507 times.