Arkansas Genealogy Local ResourcesEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Arkansas Genealogy Websites
Archives preserve the original records of history. Posting them online decreases the handling of originals and broadens access to our very heritage.
Archives for Arkansas include:
- Worldcat archivegrid
- Identify participating Arkansas Archives with contact information, search their collections
- Select Arkansas
- Arkansas History Commission (State Archives) Online collections include:
- Military records:1911 Confederate Veterans Questionnaires, Confederate Pension Records, and World War I Discharge Records
- Land Records 1853-1956 by the State Land Commissioner's Department
- Searchable by name
- Land Donation Applications, Swamp Land Applications, Swamp Land Patents, Proof of Internal Improvement Papers, Proof of Loss Documents, Forfeited Deeds, Relinquishment Papers, and other legal documents
- The National Archives at Fort Worth (formerly known as "National Archives Southwest Region (Ft. Worth)"
- Has records created by federal agencies and courts in Arkansas, Louisiana, Oklahoma, and Texas.
- Has microfilms of all available federal census records, many naturalization records, passenger arrival lists, military records, and other historical resources.
- Southwest Arkansas Regional Archives is a branch of the Arkansas History Commission (State Archives). Its mission is to serve the twelve counties in southwest Arkansas formed from the original Hempstead County.
Most libraries have online catalogs and resources such as maps, gazetteers, and other place-finding aids to help you locate information about Illinois. Local libraries often have manuscript or published collections of previous research, such as family and local histories and biographies.
Libraries located near state boundaries usually collect records relating to the adjacent states.
- Arkansas Public Libraries
- listed by Cities
- Also use tabs for Public Records, Obituaries, Colleges & Universities
Major Online Library Catalogs
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
|FamilySearch catalog||Select from the list of "Archives" topics.|
|WorldCat||To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.|
|Allen County Public Library||One of the largest collections for genealogy research. Located in Fort Wayne, Indiana.|
Family History Centers
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Centers for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
As of July 2014 the Family History Centers in Arkansas are as follows:
- Jacksonville Arkansas Family History Center in Jacksonville
- Quitman Arkansas Family History Center in Quitman
- North Little Rock Arkansas Family History Center in North Little Rock
In addition to artifacts that allow us to envision what life was like for our ancestors, museums often have records. They may have merchant ledgers with names of people and what they purchased, a doctor's log of patients, and any number of valuable items for research and interest.
Wikipedia List of museums in Arkansas
Social Networking Groups
Share findings, scan through comments, ask questions. Let's learn from one another!
|GeneaBloggers||enter "arkansas" in the search box to see a list and links to Arkansas Blogs|
|Google+||list of groups from "arkansas genealogy" search|
|list of groups from "Arkansas Genealogy" search|
|genealogy.com||Arkansas Genealogy Forum|
|ancestry.com||list of Arkansas Message Boards from "arkansas" search|
- Arkansas Genealogy and Historical Societies at ArkansasGenealogy.
- a list of Arkansas Societies with links to their websites
Courthouse and Local Resources by county
Arkansas · Ashley · Baxter · Benton · Boone · Bradley · Calhoun · Carroll · Chicot · Clark · Clay · Cleburne · Cleveland · Columbia · Conway · Craighead · Crawford · Crittenden · Cross · Dallas · Desha · Drew · Faulkner · Franklin · Fulton · Garland · Grant · Greene · Hempstead · Hot Spring · Howard · Independence · Izard · Jackson · Jefferson · Johnson · Lafayette · Lawrence · Lee · Lincoln · Little River · Logan · Lonoke · Madison · Marion · Miller · Mississippi · Monroe · Montgomery · Nevada · Newton · Ouachita · Perry · Phillips · Pike · Poinsett · Polk · Pope · Prairie · Pulaski · Randolph · Saline · Scott · Searcy · Sebastian · Sevier · Sharp · St. Francis · Stone · Union · Van Buren · Washington · White · Woodruff · Yell
- This page was last modified on 1 October 2014, at 17:57.
- This page has been accessed 1,359 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More