Arley, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Arley, Staffordshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Arley, Staffordshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred South Seisdon
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Kidderminster PLU
Registration District Kidderminster
Records begin
Parish registers: 1564
Bishop's Transcripts: 1672
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Trysull
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Dean and Chapter of Lichfield
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

ARELEY, UPPER (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of Kidderminster, S. division of the hundred of Seisdon and of the county of Stafford, 4 miles(N. by W.) from Bewdley. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Arley parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

IARC = Internet Archive - free[2]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[3]
ARLEY PARISH (1563) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
IARC 1564-1812
1564-1812
1564-1812
NBI

1563-1896


Census records


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474629.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed and adapted: 22 October 2013.
  2. The Registers of Over Areley, Formerly in the County of Stafford, Diocese of Lichfield, and Deanery of Trysul, Now in the County and Diocese of Worcester, and Deanery of Kidderminster, 1564-1812 (Worcester: Worcestershire Parish Register Society, 1916). Digitised by Internet Archive - free.
  3. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 September 2013.
  4. Ann J. Kettle, A List of Families in the Archdeaconry of Stafford, 1532-3 (Stafford: Staffordshire Record Society, 1976). FHL British Book 942.46 B4sc ser. 4 v. 8



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 April 2014, at 05:06.
  • This page has been accessed 1,071 times.