Armenia GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Armenia family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
Getting started with Armenian research
Armenia is a very old country that has experienced many boundary changes. The original kingdom of Armenia is now divided into Turkey, Iran, and the present-day Republic of Armenia. Part of Armenia was also once incorporated in the boundaries of the U.S.S.R.
Armenian research not only impacts those who lived in the country of Armenia, but also all those who belonged to the Armenian Apostolic Church, a large denomination that was prevalent in many countries including Eqypt, Austria, Russia, Indonesia, and England, to name a few. The records from these countries may be in the national language, Latin, or Armenian. Armenian research, is much more wide-spread than many realize.
11 provinces (marzer, singular - marz)
Historical Record Pages
Family History Centers
- Gyumri Armenia Family History Center
- Yerevan Armenia Family History Center
- Vanadzor Armenia Family History Center
- Armenia Genweb Project
- Armenian Genealogy Web Sites
- Federation of East European Family History Societies (FEEFHS)
- Research Resources for Armenia by BYU
The Armenian Alphabet - this article will help you learn how to use the 38 letters of the Armenian Alphabet to locate an ancestor's name! Other articles recently added that might be helpful to you with your Armenian research include:
Did you know?
- Armenia was the first nation to formally adopt Christianity
- From April 24th, 1915 until 1921, over 1 million Armenians were killed, totaling almost 80% of the population.
Help with the Armenia Wiki pages
In order to make this wiki a better research tool, we need your help! Many tasks need to be done. You can help by:
Links to articles, subcategories and images under the Category Armenia Genealogyclick here:
- This page was last modified on 2 February 2015, at 20:05.
- This page has been accessed 10,103 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More