Armenia GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Armenia family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
Armenia is a very old country that has experienced many boundary changes. The original kingdom of Armenia is now divided into Turkey, Iran, and the present-day Republic of Armenia. Part of Armenia was also once incorporated in the boundaries of the U.S.S.R.
Getting started with Armenian research
Armenian research not only impacts those who lived in the country of Armenia, but also all those who belonged to the Armenian Apostolic Church, a large denomination that was prevalent in many countries including Eqypt, Austria, Russia, Indonesia, and England, to name a few. The records from these countries may be in the national language, Latin, or Armenian. Armenian research, is much more wide-spread than many realize.
11 provinces (marzer, singular - marz)
Historical Record Pages
Family History Centers
- Gyumri Armenia Family History Center
- Yerevan Armenia Family History Center
- Vanadzor Armenia Family History Center
- Armenian Genealogy Web Sites
- Federation of East European Family History Societies (FEEFHS)
- Research Resources for Armenia by BYU
The Armenian Alphabet - this article will help you learn how to use the 38 letters of the Armenian Alphabet to locate an ancestor's name! Other articles recently added that might be helpful to you with your Armenian research include:
Did you know?
- Armenia was the first nation to formally adopt Christianity
- From April 24th, 1915 until 1921, over 1 million Armenians were killed, totaling almost 80% of the population.
- This page was last modified on 9 September 2015, at 03:42.
- This page has been accessed 14,065 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News