Arnold, NottinghamshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Parishes

Arnold, Nottinghamshire
Arnold St Mary Nottinghamshire.jpg
Arnold St Mary Nottinghamshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Broxtow
County Nottinghamshire
Poor Law Union Basford PLU
Registration District Basford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1544
Bishop's Transcripts: 1605
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Nottingham
Diocese Lincoln
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Nottinghamshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

ARNOLD (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Basford, N. division of the wapentake of Broxtowand of the county of Nottingham, 4 miles (N. by E.) from Nottingham with part of the hamlet of Daybrook. There are places of worship for Wesleyans, Wesleyans of the New Connexion, Baptists, and Independents; and a Chartist meeting-house.[1]

Additional information:

Arnold St Mary is an Ancient parish which includes Daybrook within the parish boundary.See Daybrook, Nottinghamshire

Southwell and Nottingham Church History Project have researched the history of the church Arnold St Mary

The church was restored in 1868,1877and 1923 but dates from in part from the 12th century and has been designated a grade II* listed building by English Heritage British listed building

See also Arnold St Mary Wikipedia


Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

This area was from 1837 part of the Basford registration district

Church records

Arnold, Nottinghamshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
ARNOLD PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PALL
1790-1812

Arnold St Mary

Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1544-1954 Marriages 1546-1952 Burials 1544-1953 Bishop’s Transcripts 1605-1839
Nottinghamshire County Council
County Hall
West Bridgford
Nottingham
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online

Link to the Family History Library Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Arnold

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438903.

See Nottinghamshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Basford Poor Law Union, Nottinghamshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England,(1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 06 December 2013.
  2. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 20 June 2014, at 20:06.
  • This page has been accessed 1,847 times.