Arvidsjaur parish, Sweden GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Arvidsjaur parish, Sweden)

Europe Gotoarrow.pngSwedenGotoarrow.pngNorrbotten County Gotoarrow.pngArvidsjaur parish


Guide to Arvidsjaur parish, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Back to Sweden

Contents

History

(write information such as: how old the parish is, interesting facts about the parish, what alternate names it has, or any boundary changes.)
Arvidsjaur
Jurisdictions
Stift add here
Pastorat add here
Län Norrbotten
Landskap add here
Härad add here
Tingslag add here
Domsaga add here
Fögderi add here
Länsmansdistrikt add here
Kronofogdedistrikt add here
Kommun add here
Militär indelning add here


Arvidsjaur has nothing to do with the man's name Arvid. Instead it is a misinterpretation of the Ume Sami word árviesjávrrie, which derives from árvies ("generous" or "giving plenty" and jávrrie ("lake"), referring to fishing in the nearby lake of the same name. "Aruens järff by" was in 1607 the name of the Sami village, where Arvidsjaur's church was built. [1]

Arvidsjaur parish was in 1606 separated from Piteå parish, but was reincorporated into Piteå parish in 1614 as a so called "annexförsamling", a minor parish belonging to a main parish. In 1640 Arvidsjaur again became a proper parish, as at the same time were the parishes Arjeplog, Silbojokk and Nasafjäll. In 1862 Malå socken was separated from Arvidsjaur. [3]

The allotted soldiers within the parish belonged to the Norrbotten's Regiment. [4]

Place Names

Abborträsk, Afuawiken, Afvaviken, Afvawiken, Afwawiken, Akkavara, Arvidsjaur, Arwitsjaur, Aspliden, Asplund, Aucksjaur, Aukjaur, Auksjaur, Auktjaur, Autjekjaur, Autsjaur,

Backtjaur, Backtjejaur, Backtåjve, Bakksjaur, Baksjaur, Baktjaur, Baktjejaur, Baktsjaur, Baktåive, Baktåiwe, Baktåjve, Barkonjunne, Barkonjuonne, Bastusele(t), Batsatjaur, Batzatjaur, Beckertsjaur, Bekkertjaur, Betsajaur, Björklund, Björknäs, Bokberg, Bokberget, Boksele(t), Brändlund, Brännan, Brännlund, Bränntjärn, Brännträsk, Bräntjern, Bränträsk, Bäcklund, Bäcknäs, Bätsatjaur,

Carlgård,

Deppes, Dippe, Dippes, Doldemjaur, Douldemjaur, Duldemjaur, Dunliden, Duoldemjaur,

Ersnäs,

Fiskträsk, Fjellbonäs, Fjällbonäs, Forssnäs, Fridstad, Fristaden, Fårberg, Fårberget, Fårträsk,

Gallejaur, Gardnejaur, Garnejaur, Gartevare, Gelfejaur, Geppejaur, Gickjaur, Gilfejaur, Glommersliden, Glom(m)ers-träsk, Granberget, Granliden, Granlund, Gransele, Grundsele(t), Grundträskliden, Grundträsk Norra, Grundträsk Södra, Guckisjaur, Gukkisjaur, Gullesjaur, Gullön,

Hedberget, Hjertejaur, Hjulträsk, Hjärtejaur, Hundberget, Hverbejaur, Hverpejaur, Hvoudnajaur, Hvåudnejaur, Hålberg, Hålberget, Hållberget, Häbbersträsk, Hällberget, Hällsele(t), Högbränna, Högheden, Höglund, Högnäs,

Idträsk,

Jerfojaur, Jerfträsk, Jerfträsket, Jerfvesjaur, Jervesjaur, Jerwesjaur, Julträsk, Järfojaur, Järfträsk(et), Järtejaur

Kalfträsk, Kalper, Kardnejaur, Kelfjaur, Keppejaur, Kersonäs, Kickjaur, Kikjaur, Kikkejaur, Kik(k)jaur Västra, Kik(k)jaur Östra, Kilfejaur, Kilfvejaur, Kiliså, Kilisånäs, Killesån, Kirisånäs, Kjeppejaur, Kläppen, Kokträsk(et), Krokberget, Kroknäs, Krokträsk, Kukkesjaur, Kukkisjaur, Kåtaliden, Kåtasele(t), Kåtesoen, Kyrkoplatsen, Kyrkostaden,

Lainejaur, Lajnejaur, Lambur, Lambor, Lappträsk, Laucor, Laukaur, Lauker, Laukor, Leevatn, Levatn, Levattn, Levattnet, Lewat(t)n, Lewattnet, Lindås, Ljusträsk, Lomträsk, Lundbacken, Långsele(t), Långträsk, Långudden, Löfudden, Löfviken,

Maddejaur, Mader, Mahlåträsk, Malmesjaur, Malå, Malån, Malånäs, Malåträsk, Mantnesjaur, Maosjaur, Maunesjaur, Mausjaur, Misneträsk, Missenträsk, Missneträsk, Missnträsk(et), Missträsket, Mitsneträsk, Moschessele, Mosches selle, Moskesoen, Moskosele, Myrträsk, Månsträsk, Måskesoen, Måskoselet, Mörtberg,Mörtselet, Mörttjern, Mörtudden, 

Niällejaur, Njallejaur, Njelejaur, Njellejaur, Njurge, Njållaberget, Njållavare, Njållaware, Njällejaur, Nordanås, Norrafvanäs, Norravanäs, Nyborg, Nygård, Nyliden, Nylund, Nyträsk, Nyvall, Nywall, Nywallen, Näfverliden, Näsberg(et),

Palkovara, Pettersudden, Pilträsk, Pitelf, Pitheå elf, Pithomäno, Pithå Elf, Pitomäno, Pitälf, Piäskjaur, Pjesker, Pjeskejaur, Pjäskejaur, Pjäsker, Prestbordet, Prestgården, Prästgården,

Quarnliden, Quotejaur, Qvarnliden, Qvorbejaur, Qvoutejaur, Qvuorbevare, Qvuotejaur, Qvuoutejaur,

Renborg, Rengårdsheden, Rentjern, Rentjernberget, Rentjärn, Renträsk, Renvallen, Renviken, Renwallen, Retsele, Ripeloukt, Ripeluokt, Risnabben, Rättsele(t), Rönberget, Rönliden, Rönnberget, Rönnliden, Rörträsk, Röträsk

Sandforss, Sandnäs, Sandträsk, Sandträsket, Sandträskliden, Sandviken, Sejejaur, Serrejaur, Siksjön, Sjöträsk, Skaraborg, Skatträsk, Skeppträsk, Skinäs, Skogträsk, Skurberg(et), Skäggejaur, Skäppträsk, Slefoonäs, Slefvånäs, Slefånäs, Släppejaur, Släppeträsk, Släppträsk, Solojaur, Soloåive, Soloåiwe, Srettjomvare, Stenträsk, Stjiggejaur, Storberget, Storträsk, Stretjomvare, Strettjomvare, Strettjomware, Strittje = Strettjomvare, Suddesjaur, Suddisjaur, Sundsnäs, Suttesjaur, Suttisjaur, Svanträsk, Svartliden, Swanträsk, Såkeware, Såkkeware, Södra Långträsk,

Tallberget, Tallträsk, Tiatzjaur, Timberheden, Timmerheden, Tja(c)ktjejaur, Tjappsåiwe, Tjap(p)såive, Tjernberget, Tjäggejaur, Tjärnberget, Treskiftet,

Utterliden, Utterträsk,

Vestlunda, Vestra Kik(k)jaur, Vistejaur, Vuodnejaur, Vuorbejaur, Vuotnejaur, Vuotner, Vuoudnejaur, Vuoutner, Västra Kik(k)jaur

Wargliden, Westanås, Westlunda, Wistejaur, Wuodnejaur, Woutnejaur, Wuorbejaur, Wuoutnejaur, Wuoutner, Wästra Kik(k)jaur, Wästra Långträsk, Wågträsk,

Åberget, Ånäset,

Öberget, Östlunda, Östra Kik(k)jaur,


N. B. Many place names above are variations of (mis)spellings, as there was no general Swedish orthography until mid 19th century. There may exist more alternative (mis)spellings than those mentioned above.

To see what kind of place it is you will need a Swedish Gazetteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes

Arjeplog, Jokkmokk, Jörn, Malå (from 1862), Norsjö, Piteå landsförsamling, Sorsele, Älvsby (Elvsby)


Collections

(write information about the different collections, or tips on using them)

  • Church Records


  • Court Records


  • Military Records


Related Sources

  • Digital


  • Printed


Societies and Libraries


References

Arvidsjaur parish, Husförhörslängd, AI:2 1772-1802

Arvidsjaur parish, Husförhörslängd, AI:3 1803-1813

Arvidsjaur parish, Husförhörslängd, AI:4 1813-1823

Arvidsjaur parish, Husförhörslängd, AI:5 1823-1833

Arvidsjaur parish, Husförhörslängd. AI:6 1834-1845

Arvidsjaur parish, Husförhörslängd, AI:7 1846-1851, Ortregister.

Arvidsjaur parish, Husförhörslängd, AI:8 1852-1863

Arvidsjaur parish, Husförhörslängd, AI:9 1863-1874

Arvidsjaur parish, Husförhörslängd, AI:10 1875-1884

Arvidsjaur parish, Födda, vigda, döda C:2, 1773-1848

Arvidsjaur parish, Födda, vigda, döda C:3, 1849-1891


[1] Arvidsjaur, Swedish Wikipedia

[3] Bylund, Erik (1956). Koloniseringen av Pite lappmark t.o.m. år 1867. Geographica: skrifter från Uppsala universitets geografiska institution nr 30. Uppsala

[4] Adm historik för Arvidsjaur socken (Klicka på församlingsposten). Källa: Nationella arkivdatabasen, Riksarkivet.


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 February 2015, at 21:35.
  • This page has been accessed 2,080 times.