Ash, Derbyshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Ash, Derbyshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Parishes

Guide to Ash, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Ash, Derbyshire
Type Extra-parochial
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Appletree
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Burton upon Trent PLU
Registration District Burton upon Trent
Records begin
Parish registers: For records see surrounding parishes
Bishop's Transcripts: For records see surrounding parishes
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not Applicable
Diocese Not Applicable
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Search the courts of the surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

The hamlet of Ash was an extra parochial place in Derbyshire. Search neighbouring parishes of Dalbury, Derbyshire; Marston upon Dove, Derbyshire Sutton on the Hill, Derbyshire; Trusley, Derbyshire.

ASH, a hamlet, in the parish of Sutton-on-the-Hill, union of Burton-Upon-Trent, hundred of Appletree, S. division of the county of Derby, 8 miles (W. S. W.) from Derby. [1]

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241288.


Church records

Ash parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
Ash Extra Parochial Hamlet No Records  

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's   NONE
  NONE
  NONE
  NONE
  NONE
  NONE

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non-Conformist Churches

  • Wesleyan Methodist

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Registration District
  • Burton upon Trent

Staffordshire BMD includes registered births for the Burton upon Trent Registration District . http://www.staffordshirebmd.org.uk/cgi/birthind.cgi?county=staffordshire The registration district prior to 1937 included this parish. From 1937 onwards the Repton district was responsible. Registers are now held at
The Register Office, Royal Oak House, Market Place, Derby, DE1 3AR.
Tel: 01332 256526/35/36. Fax: 01332 256525.
E-mail: registeroffice@derby.gov.uk

Poor Law Unions

Burton upon Trent Poor Law Union,Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Sutton on the Hill on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 77-81. Date accessed: 02 July 2103.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 June 2015, at 12:40.
  • This page has been accessed 2,101 times.