Ashbrittle, SomersetEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Somerset Gotoarrow.png Somerset Parishes

Ashbrittle, Somerset
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Milverton
County Somerset
Poor Law Union Wellington PLU
Registration District Wellington
Records begin
Parish registers: 1563
Bishop's Transcripts: 1599
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Taunton
Diocese Bath and Wells
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Taunton
Location of Archive
Somerset Record Office

Contents

Parish History

ASHBRITTLE (St. John the Baptist), a parish, in the union of Wellington, hundred of Milverton, W. division of Somerset, 6¾ miles (W.) from Wellington.[1]


Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Church records are the main source for identifying people prior to 1837 when civil registration began. It is also a main source after 1837 in conjunction with civil registration. The Church of England was formed in 1536, after King Henry VIII severed all ties to the church in Rome. Each local parish was responsible to register all marriages, baptisms and burials starting in 1538 [2] .

Ashbrittle, Somerset parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[3]
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
FS = FamilySearch - free[5]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[6]
MARR = Somerset Marriages (FindMyPast) - (£)[7]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[8]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[9]
ASHBRITTLE PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1563-1812

FREG 1599-1837
1599-1837
1599-1837
FS 1599-1812
1599-1812

JOIN
1563-1837

MARR
1563-1837

NBI

1599-1920
PALL
1790-1812

Church records on microfilm

Bishops Transcripts

Church Vital Records

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474601.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Tax Records

In 1692 the British government instituted another innovative scheme to increase revenue which came to be known as the land tax[10] .

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870. Date accessed: 11 September 2013.
  2. England Church Records
  3. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  4. 'Somerset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 16 October 2013.
  5. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Somerset, England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 21 October 2013.
  6. 'Somerset Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 18 October 2013.
  7. 'Somerset Marriages', FindMyPast (WayBack Machine), accessed 29 April 2014.
  8. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 17 October 2013.
  9. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  10. Land Tax Assessment Records


Contributor: add any additional relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 1 May 2014, at 23:27.
  • This page has been accessed 1,906 times.