Ashmore, Dorset GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Ashmore, Dorset)

England Gotoarrow.png Dorset Gotoarrow.png Dorset Parishes

Guide to Ashmore, Dorset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Ashmore, Dorset
Type Civil parish
Ecclesiastical parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Cranborne
County Dorset
Poor Law Union Shaftesbury PLU
Registration District Shaftesbury
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Pimperne
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Dorset

Contents

Parish History

ASHMORE, a parish in Shaftesbury district, Dorset; contiguous to Wilts, 5 miles SE of Shaftesbury, and 7½ N of Blandford r. station. Post Town, Shaftesbury under Salisbury. There is a Wesleyan chapel.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Ashmore, Dorset Genealogy Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1650
1650
1650
Images
1650-1819 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[2]
1813-1906 Ancestry[3] 1813-1921 Ancestry[4] 1813-1999 Ancestry[5]
Indexes 1651-1820 InternetArchive[6] 1651-1820 InternetArchive[6] 1651-1820 InternetArchive[6]
1651-1820 GoogleBooks[6] 1651-1820 GoogleBooks[6] 1651-1820 GoogleBooks[6]
1651-1837 FreeREG[7] 1667-1838 findmypast[8] 1651-1837 FreeREG[7]
1653-1720 FamilySearch[9] 1732-1842 OnlineParishClerks 1732-1879 OnlineParishClerks
1732-1879 OnlineParishClerks 1732-1836 Joiner[10] 1763-1819 findmypast[11]
1790-1837 findmypast[12] 1786-1838 FreeREG[7] 1813-1837 findmypast[13]
1790-1820 Ancestry[14]


Ashmore, Dorset Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[15]
Ashmore, Dorset Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1651-1837
1786-1838
1651-1837

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241341.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Dorset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, publ. London and Edinburgh 1870. Date accessed: 03 July 2013.
  2. Dorset, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  3. Dorset, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  4. Dorset, England, Marriages and Banns, 1813-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  5. Dorset, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-2001, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  6. 6.0 6.1 6.2 6.3 6.4 6.5 Edward William Watson, Ashmore, Co. Dorset: A History of the Parish with Index to the Registers, 1651 to 1820 (Gloucester: J. Bellows, 1890). Digitised by Internet Archive.
  7. 7.0 7.1 7.2 Dorset Coverage in FreeReg, FreeREG, accessed 15 April 2012.
  8. 'Dorset Marriages,' Find My Past, accessed 21 May 2012.
  9. Batch P017131, see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for Dorset, England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 21 May 2012.
  10. 'Search Marriage Records in Dorset,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 21 May 2012.
  11. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 11 April 2012. For a breakdown of missing years, see 'National Burial Index - Coverage: Dorset,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 23 April 2012.
  12. 'Dorset Baptism Index,' Find My Past, accessed 21 May 2012.
  13. 'Dorset Burial Index,' Find My Past, accessed 21 May 2012.
  14. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm
  15. 'Dorset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 10 January 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 28 May 2015, at 19:25.
  • This page has been accessed 2,153 times.