Ashperton, Herefordshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Ashperton, Herefordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Ashperton St Bartholomew Herefordshire
|Poor Law Union||Ledbury PLU|
|Parish registers: 1538; For more records see Stretton Grandison|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1660|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Hereford (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Herefordshire Record Office|
Ashperton St. Bartholomew, as of 1851 was a parish, in the union of Ledbury, 5¼ miles north by northwest Ledbury. 
Ashperton is a village and civil parish in the Ledbury district of Herefordshire 
Ashperton was formed as a chapelry of Stretton Grandison, Herefordshire Ancient parish.
The church of St Bartholomew, Church Lane, Ashperton has been designated as a grade II* listed building 
See also Herefordshire Churches. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts and other types of church records, such as parish chest records.
The Diocesan Record Office for Herefordshire has deposited Parish registers and Bishop's transcripts
Herefordshire Archive Service
Herefordshire Record Office
Office Tel No: +44 (0)1432 260750
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Ashperton
See also Herefordshire Church Records
FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition, FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through the FHC Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that genenerally charge for subscriptions.
Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)
The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Herefordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.
- This page was last modified on 11 June 2015, at 15:54.
- This page has been accessed 2,318 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News